Harvard Professors Conclude: 4th of July is For Republicans

Ee-Gads! Caution Parents: Exposure of Children to 4th of July will Make Them Into...Into...*GASP* REPUBLICANS!

Oh, what a lovely way to spend tax payer & parental money!  According to the illustrious, non-biased professors of this once great institution, the day to celebrate America’s independence from England is for Republicans only.  Apparently:

  • When done before the age of 18, it increases the likelihood of a youth identifying as a Republican by at least 2 percent.
  • It raises the likelihood that parade watchers will vote for a Republican candidate by 4 percent.
  • It boosts the likelihood a reveller will vote by about 1 percent and increases the chances they’ll make a political contribution by 3 percent.

Also: “Fourth of July celebrations in the United States shape the nation’s  political landscape by forming beliefs and increasing participation,  primarily in favor of the Republican Party”  What’s more, the impact isn’t fleeting. “Surprisingly, the estimates show that the impact on political preferences is permanent, with no evidence of the effects depreciating as individuals become older,”said the Harvard report.  Further, “The political right has been more successful in appropriating American patriotism and its symbols during the 20th century. Survey evidence also confirms that Republicans consider themselves more patriotic than Democrats. According to this interpretation, there is a political congruence between the patriotism promoted on Fourth of July and the values associated with the Republican party. Fourth of July celebrations in Republican dominated counties may thus be more politically biased events that socialize children into Republicans,” write Harvard Kennedy School Assistant Professor David Yanagizawa-Drott and Bocconi University Assistant Professor Andreas Madestam.

And the real kicker of the entire study:  “There is no evidence of an increased likelihood of identifying as a Democrat, indicating that Fourth of July shifts preferences to the right rather than increasing political polarization,” the two wrote.  *GASP*  Seeing the flag & celebrating America’s freedom from tyranny makes kids into Republicans- and none into Democrats!  Surprise, Surprise!  I suppose that is why the Democrats are so desperate to replace the U.S. flag with the Mexican Flag.  Why the Environmental groups are so desperate to ban the 4th of July fireworks because of the ‘pollution’ they cause.  Why the words “Under God, Indivisible” are being removed from the Pledge of Allegiance.

My, my.  So by all means, regular Americans out there, take your kids to your next 4th of July parade- we’ll be sure to run these nazi progressives out for sure!  Thanks for the strategy, Harvard!

p.s.  Want to know the method used in this illustrious study?  The said professors actually measured the RAINFALL on 4th of Julys in the past.  They figure, get this, that IF it rained, then people would not go to parades or the parades would be cancelled.  Based on that principle, they measured the election results for that place on that year.  Confused?  Try this:   If it didn’t rain, then people saw the parade and fireworks and then converted instantly, on the spot into Republicans & proceeded to vote Republican.  If it rained, the people didn’t see the parade and fireworks and they stayed the same.  And lo and behold- Great Science!

5 comments

  1. I have to admit it makes perfect sense. Although I have a lot of personal disagreements with the “stupid party”, mostly when the RINOs decide to pander to the leftists, Republicans, by-and-large, are Conservatives dedicated to the traditional values of God and Country.

    Democrats? Is there really any such thing? What we call the “Democrat Party” is actually nothing more than a collection of greedy immoral special interests, each of whom is primarily concerned with their own special interest — and getting the rest of the country to pay for it. Spoiled babies who refuse to take responsibility for their lives and who want total freedom to do whatever they want without suffering any consequences from bad choices.

    Patriotism? Fourth of July? You might as well be speaking Greek. Oh, those few that actually have jobs might be happy for the day off work, but actually remembering the sacrifices of Americans that came before them or the values that made America great to start with?

    Forget it.

  2. Wow…great post! It definitely goes hand in hand with what I blogged today. I love the 4th, and love my country–unapologetically.🙂 I did just register Republican for the first time in the last election. Until then, I’d kept myself open, always registering “Undeclared”. But, when it came time to pick a side, when I felt as if my own actually quite moderate views were under attack on a daily basis and being called “extremist”, I picked a side. But, Harvard would be shocked to know, fireworks, parades, and potato salad had nothing to do with it.😉 They can chalk that one up to seeing very clearly, and refusing to be led around by the nose by them and those of their ilk! For the most part, I keep my blog non-political. Not that I’m not political, but I talk politics only with people I know personally. What’s interesting is that my own blog from today about patriotism will likely be viewed by some as inflammatory and extremist, just because I love America and am not afraid to show it, or to show it to my kids. Again, great post!

    • You go girl! You know, I started this blog because I was SICK of being afraid of losing friends for my beliefs! I live in WA state, the bluest of the blue. Everyone here wants a hand out. They actually believe that Obama is going to hand out ‘free’ money. Pregnant young girls give advice to other pregnant young girls to not marry the father. This way, the ‘baby daddy’ and the ‘baby momma’ can live together in the same household with their cash only jobs and collect every bit of ‘free’ money from the government as they can. They immediately apply for section 8 housing and give parties when, 10 years later, they finally get a ‘free’ house. This is the actual talk at baby showers!

      One day, I said, “enough”. While I won’t confront anyone else, I will feel as free to speak my mind as they feel free to speak theirs. And you know what? One of my best ‘friends’ ceased to be my friend. And why? Because I would say, “Thank God!” every now and again. She refuses to let her kids come over in case they might see that I believe there is a God. She has never spoken to me about this- nor has she told her kids. Both sets of kids continue to press her for play dates- but she is always busy. For a year now. I spoke to her husband who confirmed my suspicions.

      Having been pushed too far, I began to write this blog. I love the support it gives me. Also, I love to skewer the liberals who know nothing whatsoever about the news, politics, or history. I find that they are 100% self desire driven and hence are easy to pick apart. Their motives are quickly revealed to be personal gratification: not a very commendable motive.

      I am beginning to feel an urge to call out to all ‘normal’ Americans. We are the vast majority. and we are just sick and tired of tiny, rabid minorities screaming & kicking like little babies to get their way. They push & shove and never stop. They flew gay flags (gee, where can I buy a heterosexual flag), and spew spittle hate into my face because I don’t agree that babies should be adopted to same sex parents. The name calling, the frothing mouths, the shrieking & the victimhood of these people have gone too far for almost all of us. We are starting to believe that we are the only ones who feel this way. And so we stay quiet, afraid to lose friends, afraid to have that spittle flick on our faces. But it’s not true. The vast majority of us believe in the same old things. We are still here as the American People. We need to band together and shriek back. This is OUR country and we want it back!

      • I hear ya on the losing friends thing…whenever I share an opposing view on politics, left leaning individuals go on the attack. Some of them have been my friends, but we’re friendly no longer. I’m not really sure what is going on out there, but I have noticed that people who used to be moderate, mostly mild mannered, AND good friends, get extremely vicious with me if I don’t fall in lockstep with what they believe, which incidentally is pretty much in line with what I’ve seen and heard on MSNBC. It’s insane…and shocking to me. I’ve lost people I’ve known since I was in elementary and high school, because THEY got mean about it and crossed the line, not me. Yet, inevitably, they had the nerve to say I was spewing hatred. LOL What passes for hate speech these days seems to be, “Hey, let’s reign in the spending a bit, shall we?” or “Keynesian economics doesn’t really work, you know that, right?” On the gay thing, I actually support gay marriage. I see it as a civil rights issue…the right of one consenting adult to marry another consenting adult. I tend to keep religious beliefs totally out of my own political paradigm. However, that being said, the second someone hears that I’m conservative, they start calling me a racist neocon who wants to curtail human rights. Unbelievable! There’s something very sinister going on out there now…with people being successfully convinced that there is only one way to think. It scares me, quite honestly, and like you I want it stopped!

      • Please read my article which addresses gay marriage & gay adoption. Also pls. read my article about separation of church & state. believe it or not, there is no such thing! I posted the Bill of Rights to edify my readers on one of the biggest political scams in our history. That should clarify my stance on the matter. My argument breaks down as thus: 1) Gay relationships do not add anything to society as a UNIT other than what they contribute as individuals. Heterosexual marriage is and always will be the baby making, baby raising machine of civilization. As they spend almost the entirety of their wealth & time in this critical societal function, they deserve the recognition and special legal & tax protections offered by governments the world over. 2) To give gay marriage to gay couples automatically opens the door to gay adoption- resulting in the blatantly unfair disadvantage of the youngest American citizens. These children are forever denied either a mother or a father- denying them the essential male & female role modeling so necessary for the proper development of sexual identity- probably the most important aspect of being a human being.

        I support Civil Unions to protect these couples in every other way. Don’t be fooled, Witty. Their agenda is much farther reaching than you think.

Please join the conversation! All comments are monitored, so if you have a private note you wish to leave, just say so. Also, all profane or unhelpful comments will be deleted. Thank you!

