I Finally Told My Kids The Easter Bunny Wasn’t Real…

Yep.  I did it.  And guess what?  They surprised me by saying they were relieved to know!  When asked, they said they suspected he wasn’t real and hearing the truth from their number one authority on matters such as these (me), was a comfortable release from ambiguity.

You might wonder why I told them.  I actually surprised myself, as I had no plans to do so this year.  I suspected my oldest daughter (12) had her doubts and the kids had found candy & those plastic Easter egg bag wrappers under our bed last year.  But that isn’t why I told them.

This year has been different than years past.  I think it has to do with finding my new church.  I feel so Spirit filled.  I have a new pair of glasses on.  Things just don’t look the same.  As I have contemplated Easter this week, I just couldn’t feel good about the celebration of Ēostre, the goddess of fertility.  Rabbits, eggs, fertility- get it?

Even as a child, as much as I loved stories of the Easter Bunny & the basket of goodies, I never understood what they had to do with Jesus’ resurrection.  Fact is, they don’t.

They actually stem from Germanic paganism.    While exact dates & circumstances differ from source to source, there is no doubt that our Easter (the name, anyway) stems from the name of the goddess Eostre.  Why the Roman Catholic Church also adopted this name, month & time to celebrate Jesus’ resurrection has been the subject of many controversies.  Some feel that the Catholic Church was attempting to gain pagan converts via a compromise with their pagan rituals.  That sounds about right to me, but who really knows?   It’s not the details that bug me.

It is the paganism of the name, Easter, and the symbols of eggs & rabbits that led me to blurt out the truth in the car the other day.  It was depressing me when I wanted to feel the joy of Jesus- to celebrate the day Jesus conquered the grave!  But instead, all this focus & work around something that leads to death.  I just couldn’t stand it!  And, so, I spilled the beans..

As a parent, I just wasn’t thrilled about buying Easter eggs, coloring Easter eggs, hiding Easter eggs, making baskets of Easter eggs and celebrating a magical bunny coming to our home again.  I even resented the cooking of a big, Easter dinner & going to visit neighbors who don’t love Jesus- just because it is the tradition!  It feels burdensome- the exact opposite of what Jesus intended for us!

Because he took the burden from us the day he rose again!

And yet, paganism would put the burden on us again.

I just want to focus on Jesus today & tomorrow.  I want to sing songs & feel my spirit soar.  I want to dance for my Lord and do all that is pleasing in his sight.  I want to be filled with the Holy Spirit and experience that joy only Christians know about.  What I really want for tomorrow is to go to church.  I wish I could go all day.  I think it would be great to celebrate there with a giant picnic feast.  Outside in the blazing sun with flowers blooming everywhere.  I want to love the Lord with friends who love him as much as I do.  I don’t want something complicated & full of work and boasting.  I don’t want to obsess on house cleaning, lawn mowing and other complete distractions!

I wish I could say that I completely won the battle against Ēostre by revealing the truth to my children, but I don’t think I have.  Their little eyes & lips looked up to me and asked, “But will you & Daddy still hide the Easter eggs for us to find?” and guess what?  I gave in.  They asked, “Can we still color Easter eggs?”  and you already know what I said.  And when my neighbor (who refuses to acknowledge Jesus) reminded me of our yearly invitation to her Easter dinner, yes, I said, yes, we’d love to come.

I’m not happy about that part.  But am I wrong in my desire not to hurt the little ones?  Am I wrong to wish for peace & harmony with my neighbor?  I hope not.  A small victory was won because my kids will not be celebrating the Easter bunny this year.  I’m pretty sure they are truly focused on Jesus- they love him too.  I can only hope that God is guiding my actions concerning the rest.  What do you think?

9 comments

  1. LITTLE REBEL,
    Martin’s comment is surprisingly unrelated to the subject matter you presented so well. His comment is nothing other than an unprovoked attack. Scripture is clear concerning an unbridled tongue. Scripture is also clear concerning righteousness. The following scriptures are directly applicable to this event:

    THE TONGUE

    JAMES 1:

    26 If any man among you seem to be religious, and bridleth not his tongue, but deceiveth his own heart, this man’s religion is vain.

    JAMES 3:

    1 My brethren, be not many masters, knowing that we shall receive the greater condemnation.
    2 For in many things we offend all. If any man offend not in word, the same is a perfect man, and able also to bridle the whole body.
    3 Behold, we put bits in the horses’ mouths, that they may obey us; and we turn about their whole body.
    4 Behold also the ships, which though they be so great, and are driven of fierce winds, yet are they turned about with a very small helm, whithersoever the governor listeth.
    5 Even so the tongue is a little member, and boasteth great things. Behold, how great a matter a little fire kindleth!
    6 And the tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity: so is the tongue among our members, that it defileth the whole body, and setteth on fire the course of nature; and it is set on fire of hell.
    7 For every kind of beasts, and of birds, and of serpents, and of things in the sea, is tamed, and hath been tamed of mankind:
    8 But the tongue can no man tame; it is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison.

    NON ARE RIGHTEOUS

    ROMANS 3:

    10 As it is written, There is none righteous, no, not one:
    11 There is none that understandeth, there is none that seeketh after God.
    12 They are all gone out of the way, they are together become unprofitable; there is none that doeth good, no, not one.
    13 Their throat is an open sepulchre; with their tongues they have used deceit; the poison of asps is under their lips:
    14 Whose mouth is full of cursing and bitterness:
    15 Their feet are swift to shed blood:
    16 Destruction and misery are in their ways:
    17 And the way of peace have they not known:
    18 There is no fear of God before their eyes.
    19 Now we know that what things soever the law saith, it saith to them who are under the law: that every mouth may be stopped, and all the world may become guilty before God.
    20 Therefore by the deeds of the law there shall no flesh be justified in his sight: for by the law is the knowledge of sin.
    21 But now the righteousness of God without the law is manifested, being witnessed by the law and the prophets;
    22 Even the righteousness of God which is by faith of Jesus Christ unto all and upon all them that believe: for there is no difference:
    23 For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God;
    24 Being justified freely by his grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus:
    25 Whom God hath set forth to be a propitiation through faith in his blood, to declare his righteousness for the remission of sins that are past, through the forbearance of God;
    26 To declare, I say, at this time his righteousness: that he might be just, and the justifier of him which believeth in Jesus.

    • Thanks, Whitey. Scripture has true power to chase evil away. That’s why Jesus used it in the desert when Satan attempted to trap him- he could have just destroyed Satan on the spot, but chose to act as an example to us all. your words are appreciated.

  2. Shalom Martin.

    It’s in fact a blessing when one heaps coals on the head of another. Back then a fire was a necessity for so many things, light, warmth, and cooking. It was the practice to keep the fire burning. If it went out it would take awhile to build it back up again to it’s serviceable state. If it went out, sometimes, a person would place an insulated pan on their head and go to their neighbors home for some coals. The stingier neighbor might just give a few causing the first to try to keep the coal burning while running back home and hopefully having enough fire present with which to start another. But the generous neighbor would ‘heap coals’ on the head of the neighbor, to help them. It was to bless them.

    I’m sorry for your pain and bitterness. I pray that you would be able to remove the bitterness, it’s a hard thing to have.

    When you posted your comments for the public, you might expect the public to comment. If you wished for this to be a private matter, then you might have thought to have chosen a private venue.

    We’ve all done very evil things in our lives, all of us. The tragedy is when we don’t see it in ourselves. Your spirit would be better served in forgiving as we have all been forgiven much, such as this season reminds us in the death of Messiah. The accusatory spirit serves another.

    Shalom Martin.

    • Teresa & Talon,

      I thank you for your kind & wise words. This person has used a fake name and is hiding behind supposed anonymity. Sadly, I have come to realize who this is. I originally published the comment they sent in order to allow this person to reap what they sowed. Spreading rumors & lies is easy under cover of darkness. It is a perfect demonstration of Satanic lies & hate- it was sent Easter Morning- the day Jesus conquered Satan. Specifically, I wished to show how Satan enjoys using Jesus’ name to accomplish his ugly motives. I knew it was an attack by Satan on me due to my work with my new church (I have been building a new website for them & have been offering my management consulting for them to improve their ability to grow). It was meant to disrupt this work. There are some things a person can not respond to and these accusations fit that bill. To respond directly is to give them personal satisfaction as well as air time they so greatly crave. I rejected it by publishing it and allowing the world to see it (and this person) for what it was. I wanted to bring the evil to the light and so deprive it of any power. I do not fear this person or their words. I live out loud in Jesus. My life and the fruit of my life speak for themselves. In any case, this person will not be commenting further on this blog.

      “the one who is in [me] is greater than the one who is in the world” 1 John vs. 4

      “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.” Philippians 4:8.

      -and so we will continue to do so.

  3. Keep listening to Him, He has something very important He wants you to know. Mixing the pagan with the Holy has never been acceptable to Him. Never.

  4. Susan you talk about religion and how you are a conservative. Well how about all of the sleeping around you did that led to one abortion I know about and possibly more. What about you turning your back on your brother and sister? What about how you judged your brother? …saying that you believed his short comings led to his father turning his back on him. You are a hypocrite, lost, false prophet, who needs to reevaluate her life. Rumors are that your kids are not from your husband because he can’t have kids. I wonder what a DNA test would reveal. You simply disgust me. How about you repenting of your sins and showing compassion before putting yourself above everyone else. And how about verifying that your brother and sister are true Christians before putting yourself above them?

    • “Everyone who does evil hates the light, and will not come into the light for fear that his deeds will be exposed.”- Jesus (John3: 20)

      At least I put my face on my words, Martin. You, on the other hand, bear amazingly false witness against me- but refuse to show your face.

      “18 A good tree cannot bear bad fruit, and a bad tree cannot bear good fruit. ” My fruit is beautiful. How about yours?

      Proverbs 19:
      2It is not good to have zeal without knowledge,
      nor to be hasty and miss the way.
      5A false witness will not go unpunished,
      and he who pours out lies will not go free.

      King Solomon was the wisest man who ever lived, Martin (exception, Jesus- but he was God and Man). Bearing false witness such as your comment will not go unpunished. I decided to publish your comment and thus, heap burning coals upon your head. You can feel free to receive your just rewards from my God. It is his to avenge.

    • Wowza. Personal issue aside, sinceSLR chooses to let it ride here’s a piece of unwanted wisdom for you: One can grind an ax until they are holding nothing more than a blunt club.

      The Apostle Paul rightly called himself the chiefest of sinners, having the blood of saints on his hands, yet in God’s incredible mercy He called Saul out of his error into the light.

Please join the conversation! All comments are monitored, so if you have a private note you wish to leave, just say so. Also, all profane or unhelpful comments will be deleted. Thank you!

