‘Bible Thumpin’ Articles Not Welcome at ConstitutionClub’s Blog Anymore

Short Little Rebel is Deemed a ‘Bible Thumper’!

Attention Blogosphere:  I  have just been kicked off the Constitution Club group blog because the tiny leadership group(infiltrated by Libertarians) believes my articles are too ‘bible thumpin’ for their liking.  They didn’t like my gay pride parade article ( https://shortlittlerebel.wordpress.com/2012/06/23/lets-call-gay-prid…) because Dave (owner of blog) said my Christian wording made the Libertarians ‘uncomfortable’.  He asked me to ‘tone down’ my Christian speech as it was not a ‘good fit’ for C.C.  His message implied the threat that if I didn’t tone down my Christian speech, I would be kicked off.  When I told them, point blank, that I would always write what my King & conscience dictated- and that my articles were 100% in line with conservative thought in America, they booted me (well, actually they booted me after my FB article the other day that spoke of the threat- even though I didn’t name them).  Just thought I would let the conservative Twitter blogosphere, Smart Girls, FB,  other writers & commenters know that C.C., of all blogs, is trying to limit free speech- specifically Christian free speech.  Unbelievable in my mind.

First, I am not afraid to say the truth:  All history & politics revolves around God’s ordained plan.  To say otherwise is to deny the truth of life.  Attempting to take Christian thought out of a discussion of politics is a failure to understand either.  Second, I am surprised by this accusation as the vast majority of my articles on Short Little Rebel are political & not ‘religious’ in nature.  Check it out yourself (https://shortlittlerebel.wordpress.com/).  Third, most of the writers on C.C. are Christians and write about God.  I believe it was my completely outspoken criticism of homosexuality that got me kicked of the blog.  Especially as I condemned the blatant, selfish, and hedonistic nature of male homosexuality- especially in the gay parades.  Yes, I condemned it- and I used the Bible as my reference.  I will do so again.  I have zero regrets. C.C. should re-label itself as a Libertarian blog that graciously allows Christians to speak as long as they don’t get ‘uppity’ about their beliefs.  Homosexuals & homosexuality are a protected class there- beware other writers if you’re too ‘bible thumpin ‘ for the ‘kitchen cabinet’.  Don’t tick them off personally or you, too, will get the ol’ boot.   Lastly, who the hell is the Constitution Club to think they can tell ANYONE how ‘Christian’ their articles are?

For me, good riddance.  I only wish I knew the true nature of the leadership there from the beginning- I wouldn’t have wasted my time.  If you believe that Christian thought is intregal to Conservative Political thought, let them know!  If you are a bleeding heart liberal & LOVE that the Constitution Club booted Short Little Rebel, let them know as well!  After all, they should know who their real audience is!

For interested C.C. writers:  here is the infamous transcript from Dave in which he ‘fires’ her & then tries to explain himself:

David Huntwork

June 27

David Huntwork

  •  Hey Susan, I was going to briefly ask that maybe you could consider toning down the religiosity of some of your posts. I’ve received a couple of complaints from some of the more libertarian minded posters on the blog. The common theme and thread should generally be from a political standpoint and go out from there. The wording of the homosexuality post seems to have caused some concern. Conclub should be seen as a political blog with some references to religion and not the other way around. Think of it that way. It’s a hard thing to ask of you since I am a Christian and a preachers kid, but the posts on conclub should not appear as ‘bible thumpin’ to an outside reader. If it passed that test then a post is fine. You can refer to Christianity and Christian morals and values, but a bit more subtlely, at least for this blog, is probably a bit wiser of a way to approach things. I’m always pulled one way and then the other by the bloggers and I’m even considering quitting the whole darn thing lately due to my continued frustrations about the blog, poor numbers, and lack of participation by a good number of its supposed members. Sigh. I appreciate your understanding. thanks, Dave
  • Susan Shannon

    July 20

    Susan Shannon

    •  Hi dave.  Nope.  Can’t agree with your request.  You can ask me to leave, I suppose.  God and Christianity have BECOME political- which is why it is drawing fire.    As the days go on, you will see that this is so:  all of history is the story of God and Jesus (note:  HIS Story).  To deny it and think that politics is something separate is to deny reality.  To be ashamed of God’s truth is to deny Jesus- something none of us should dare to do.  It is something I won’t do.  It simply isn’t good for people to lie or to deny the truth.  I find it interesting that Libertarians, of all people, want to curb my speech.  Isn’t that funny to you?  If I am wrong, then what do they care?  I only make a fool of myself.  I certainly don’t agree with every post and feel free to say so.  If I write a post, it represents my mindset- not the blog’s.  To fear that one writer’s perspective endangers the reputation of the entire corps of writers is ridiculous.   Especially in light of the fact that I don’t write that often.  They just don’t like what I have to say.  Period.  Tone it down?  Now, if I said things that were un-factual or incorrect, I would fix them.  But you are asking me to deny my passion for the topics I write about.  I can only think that they are threatened by my words. Like little babies, they can’t address me directly and go tattling to Daddy.  Rather than write a counterpoint, they ask for me to change my opinion, my topics and my ‘tone’.  They don’t like my homosexuality article?  Wow.  Why didn’t they just ignore my article?  Oh, I guess it’s hard to ignore big, giant bulging crotches in your face, right?  My point exactly. I am most definitely not a Libertarian for the express reason that Libertarians don’t believe that the law of the land should be morally based.  Anything goes in their minds.  Hence, their full support for homosexuality.  As a conservative political writer, I am certainly not alone in my belief that ALL our law is based in Judeo-Christian culture and beliefs.  Every atheist and Libertarian is riding on the theoretical coat tails of what we believe.  If Libertarians got what they truly wanted, they would be miserable.  But they, like atheists, count on the fact that Christians will win the day- thou shall not kill, steal, etc.  Like little children, they want to derive the benefits of Christian thought (ie, a stable, peaceful society), but don’t want the responsibility that goes with it.   To me, an alliance between Christian conservatives and Libertarianism is tenuous at best.  This move is a perfect example of it.  And now they are torturing you and you are considering something you would never normally consider- politically:  to quell the speech of one to suit the many.  I thought Conclub was a combination of voices?  Dave, I understand your frustration.  I am sure that it isn’t easy to deal with all the different personalities.  But for a conservative blog to not allow Christian speech is when the end has come for ConClub.  Personally, I would like to encourage you to stick with it.  If you hand the blog over to Patriot (don’t know his name), you will be ending Conclub.  He has zero tolerance and could never lead a diverse group.   Conclub is a great success, Dave.  Don’t sweat the numbers.  I think the numbers are great.  Every single hit is a victory for the conservative cause.  Conclub is rare in its continuity over the years.  Don’t let it all get you down. If you feel the need to ask me to step down, I will feel it is a bad decision.  A very bad, very un-conservative decision.  But I won’t be mad at you personally.  Disappointed?  yes.  Mad?  no.   Do what is best for the blog.
  • David Huntwork

    July 20

    David Huntwork

    •  It is my job to set the tone of the blog.  Conclub should be seen as a political blog with some references to religion and not the other way around. It’s that simple, it’s what the blog was founded upon and been ever since. And that’s what I expect it to be in the future. It the concept that makes it successful and attracts the kind of writers and readers that we have. You have the ability and maturity to select what types of things you choose to post and to make sure they fit within the ‘culture’ on Conclub. I am a pk and a Christian but I keep it toned down to reach a larger audience in the ideological realm. It can be done. I accepted you as a political writer and that was reflected in the types of articles you wrote at that time. I like you very much and admire your passion and appreciate your friendship. But after speaking now with the ‘inner circle’ of the blog and discussing the matter this is what has been decided. Toning it down in certain aspectds or being a bit more selective with the article you post on Conclub is not asking too much. I have to look out for the blog as the whole and that is what I am doing here as hard as that may be for me at times. I do appreciate you getting back with me with your thoughts on the matter. Thank you. – David
  • Susan Shannon

    July 20

    Susan Shannon

    •  “I am a pk and a Christian but I keep it toned down to reach a larger audience in the ideological realm. It can be done.” Ah, but SHOULD it be done?  Are you looking for fame or for  the Truth, Dave?  Beware.  “If anyone is ashamed of me and my words in this adulterous and sinful generation, the Son of Man will be ashamed of him when he comes in his Father’s glory with the holy angels.”- Jesus Christ   Mark 8:38 As I have said, I will post what I deem fit.  No one will tell me what to write except my King and my conscience.  If you want to kick me off of C.C., then do so.  A question:  did it ever occur to you that your ‘formula’ for C.C. doesn’t work?  Did it ever occur to you that THIS is why C.C. isn’t getting the attention you want it to?  People want authenticity.  They want the truth.  So many articles on C.C. are mere repetitions of what more famous talking heads are already saying.  Where is the originality in that?  I usually pass those stories by unless I have a unique perspective.  At least my articles can claim original thought.  I believe that if you actually encouraged that type of writing, you would get more attention.  But, it is your blog.  Do what you want.  As I will.  I leave it to you.
  • David Huntwork

    July 20

    David Huntwork

    •  I’m sorry you don’t see my point and the vision of conclub. I’ve made it clear now several times so I won’t belabor the point that’s already been made and the expectations already laid out on my blog. Right or wrong, the policy has been set and the expectations expressed to you politely and with respect. I’m sorry you disagree but we won’t all see eye to eye sometimes and sometimes we don’t always get what we want. In this case, that’s something you’ll just have to trust me on and understand. We all just have to do what we believe to correct at times, and it is my job to steer the direction of the blog and approve what is posted there. It’s not a fun job but as it’s steward there are decisions that have to be made and policies enforced even if some do not like it or understand at the time. I’ll leave it at that.
  • David Huntwork

    July 20

    David Huntwork

    •  I’ll also add that at times in the past I was submitting to two to three dozen sites at a time. And there were certain ones that wouldn’t publish certain kinds of articles or subject matter. And that did affect me. But I respected that, and sometimes certain things got rejected or I just didn’t submit certain types of articles to certain sites. What’s nice is that as a blogger with your own site you get to write and publish whatever you want to you own site, but when you are publishing on the site of another sometimes you just don’t get to publish whatever you want to. Sometimes I had to utilize a bit of discretion in what I was doing. It’s about respect, and respecting the various editors and publishers throughout the web whether you agree with their criteria or not. I’ve been there, I’ve done it, and sometimes I have to request that. Conclub is primarily a political and ideological blog and it will remain so as long as it is under my direction and leadership. It’s not up for debate. I have a responsibility to do what I believe is correct and right for the blog as a whole and whether or not an individual blogger or person may disagree with that is irrelevant in the long run. Blogging for conclub is always voluntary and many have come and gone but all are expected to follow the rules, boundaries, guidelines, and expectations that are laid out for them as long as they desire to be part of the Conclub community of writers. These are common sense things and reasonable expectations. It’s not about whether you agree with what has been laid out as much as making sure you understand them. I did not expect you to agree with it, but I do expect you to respect it and abide by it. Hopefully, this will be the last of this discussion on the subject and I believe we understand each other. It’s been a very long day and I am done playing administrator for the moment. Sometimes it’s not alot of fun, but we do what we must do. This is far from the first ‘difficulty’ I’ve had to handle and undoubtedly it will not be the last. But someone’s got to do it. (: I have to trust my instincts, my gut, and my experience to deal with the mini-controversies that arise from time to time. You just have to weigh it all fairly, make the decision (which I have), stand by it, enforce it, and move on. I’m now moving on in regards to this SLR, and so should you. I appreciate your patience with me and I am confident that you will respect my wishes as long as you are a part of the Conclub blog and community of writers. – Dave
  • Susan Shannon

    July 21

    Susan Shannon

    •  Dave, in addition to my objections concerning your request (which NO ONE would abide by), I must say that I don’t even understand your point.  I do not believe that the vast, vast majority (if any) of my articles are anything BUT politically motivated.  Even the gay parade article is political- it takes offense that our government officials are now marching in front of sexually explicit & indecent acts which, in essence, pressures our children into accepting the behavior.  How is that not political?  You & I both know that the push of homosexuality on our youth is a clearly stated goal of those who wish for the downfall of the United States.  MANY of the authors on C.C. post Christian based articles.  There have even been some major theological arguments concerning Catholocism & Protestantism. The article, “Why do atheists ridicule Christians?” is one of the all time most popular articles on the site.  The followup article, “Answering Critics of Christianity’ also garnered enormous interest.  Talk about articles that are 100% based on religion and not politics! You are unfairly targeting me.  I believe that a couple of your ‘inner circle’ have a problem with me and so are giving me a hard time.  Patriot is mad because of the abortion article & the way I answered his WIFE and your libertarians are mad because of the homosexuality article- because they support homosexuality in their ‘anything goes’ philosophy’.  These are either personal or political differences.  Not professional ones.  My work is 100% representative of conservative thought today.  If  C.C. is a conservative think tank, I am a perfect fit.  If C.C. is a liberatarian blog, then maybe not.  I was under the impression it was a conservative blog with some libertarian writers.  I know for a fact that most of the writers on C.C. like my work and would support me in this matter.  I don’t think most would think my articles are primarily ‘bible thumpin’.  AND I don’t think they would relish the idea that we are now being judged to see if our articles are ‘too religious’ in nature. Please go and count all my articles and you tell me how many are primarily motivated by ‘bible thumpin’.  The accusation is both untrue and biased. As I have never put primarily ‘preachy’ articles on C.C., I don’t suppose I ever will.  I have a whole other blog for that.  Whatever YOU and your inner circle think of my future articles is up to you.  As I said, I will in no way change my writing.  Only the future will tell if you take offense at them. Lastly, I too appreciate your patience with my objections.  I think you know me well enough by now that while I may disagree strongly with people, I can also remain civil.  I do wish you would re-think the objections being stated about my articles- I do hope you will review the body of my work (easily seen on my blog’s home page) and re-analyze the impression you have formed about it.
  • David Huntwork

    July 21

    David Huntwork

    •  I’d re-read my original comment/request in regards to all of this. Fairly straightforward. I can’t explain it much better than I did. I’m pretty much done talking about all this and have a ton of other things on my plate at the moment (I’m in the middle of a national security background investigation by the Office of Personnel Management for a new job I am taking soon and that is eating up a large amount of my time). Just consider all future posts in the light of what I stated, and we’ll go from there. I don’t want to remove posts in the future so just use a little discretion and put a little thought into what I’ve stated and we’ll be fine. I have a whole blog to look after and once in a while I step on some toes. It can’t be helped and I can’t make everyone happy. But it’s my job and I’ll do what I feel is right even if it makes some unhappy at that particular time. That’s just the way it is. Thanks – Dave
  • David Huntwork

    Yesterday

    David Huntwork

    •  Hi Susan, After some consultations this week with my ‘kitchen cabinet’ and a few days to think about I think maybe it is best if Short Little Rebel and The Constitution Club blog were to sever their blogging relationship. The goals and vision we have for the blog do not seem to be shared by yourself and you have been critical of it on and off for some time. I am not here condemning your writing style, approach, and subject matters but increasingly they do not seem to mesh well with the blog as a whole and the tone of the blog that has developed. You have taken issue with my direction in this latest matter as well as on your abortion post controversey when I tried to shut down the thread. This decision is absolutely not personal, but ‘business’ and I have made many difficult decisions in regards to various writers in the past (remember Zazu?) and will undoubtedly have to do so in the future. We have to do what we believe is best for the blog overall. I know you have written for other blogs in the past and wil undoubtedly do so in the future. I encourage you to market and promote your own blog more as well. And I wish you success in those endeavors. I also hope that you will remain my fb friend and still interact with me as a friend. But that of course if up to you. I appreciate your past contributions to the blog and hope that you accept this decision in the spirit it was intended.  It was not made lightly and was difficult. Thank you – Dave
  • David Huntwork

    Yesterday

    David Huntwork

    •  I should state you are also free to interact with the blog as a commenter if you so choose to do so in the future.
  • Susan Shannon

    15 hours ago

    Susan Shannon

    •  Dave, why don’t you just be honest.  You can’t stand to be contradicted.  You resent my latest FB post where, though I did not name C.C., I posted what you & your ‘kitchen cabinet’ did to me.  You can not substatiate a single accusation that you have made against my writing- especially as the percentage of my writings (majority political vs. majority Christian) is no different than anyone elses.  As for me criticizing the blog (as opposed to you or your actions), I would ask you substantiate that as well if I thought you would even bother to.  Here is what you personally don’t like about me:  I don’t cower when you talk.  I state my opinion.  Even if it is at complete odds with you.  Further, I don’t need C.C.  My blog is developing just fine.   Even if that were not so, I would never give in where I felt someone was blatantly wrong.  You need to face your real reasons for asking me to leave.  I don’t think you will be proud of them.  Lastly, I don’t think you will receive much support for your decision.  To me, your decision seals the doom for C.C.- it has become just one more politically correct RINO site.  Especially when people learn that you ousted me for my Christian speech.  Shame on you, Dave.
  • David Huntwork

    14 hours ago

    David Huntwork

    •  I don’t see what you are referring to about a fb post (?). I’ve been very honest and straightforward with you from the very beginning and I wouldn’t change that now. It is my blog, it is my rules, and if people write for the site that’s the way it is and has been since I was given sole control of the site several years ago. I know you are angry, and that is fine and expected. I know you don’t need CC and often the tree that is pruned grows better, and that may be best for the both of us. I sincerely hope you do very well. It was just time to part ways. One must have a shared vision and understanding to succeed together and we increasingly did not. I wish you only the best. – Dave
  • Susan Shannon

    13 hours ago

    Susan Shannon

    •  Dave, one word for you:  bull-hockey.  You did it for personal reasons, not professional ones.  I consistently rated as a top writer for you- and I was consistently one of your best commentors- supporting other writer’s articles extensively.  My ideology & writing is 100% in line with conservative thought.  You had a personal problem with me- as did your ‘kitchen cabinet’ or whatever you call them.  If you had rules, I most certainly didn’t break them.  Show me the money, as they say.  Let’s see the proof that I am more ‘bible thumpin’ than the other writers.  Or that I didn’t fit with C.C. ideology.  That outta be good.  My anger isn’t because you’ve unfairly booted me off C.C.  My anger stems from your lack of honesty.  If you can show that my articles & comments are more bible thumpin than other writers, then great.  And if you can show that my articles are not in line with CONSERVATIVE thought, then fine.  If not, accept what you have done- you are reacting emotionally & personally- don’t mention ‘vision’ and ‘professionalism’ unless you want to stand by the idea that conservativism is not based in Christianity.  Or perhaps you wish to stand on the ‘vision’ that Christianity dumbs down political discourse.  or perhaps you want to stand by the ‘professionalism’ that states that a CONSERVATIVE blog can tell its writers to limit the christianity of their articles.  Or even better, are you saying it is ‘professional’ for a conservative group blog owner to tell every writer how Christian their articles can be?  And if they don’t bow and scrape and agree to this rather dictatorial style of leadership, they are ‘professional’ to throw off one of their top writers? Dave, get over it.  You did what you did.  My only question is how honest you plan on being with the other writers.  ‘Cause I don’t see how they will feel comfortable with this- your CHRISTIAN writers may very well wonder if you and your little dictatorial core will censure them next time.  Who wants to write for a blog like that?  Rest assured that I will certainly be open & honest about it.
  • David Huntwork

    3 hours ago

    David Huntwork

    •  I can’t explain things much better than I have through this entire difficult process. Sometimes it’s more how you say things than the content of the things you are saying. I consulted with the three others who make up the informal ‘steering committee’ for the blog and there was general agreement that this was the best course of action at this time for the blog as a whole. No quick decisions, kneejerk reactions, or emotionalism played a role here. I did let you know that this was not personal at all, but when I ask something of a blogger on the site I expect compliance if they wish to continue to write for the site whether they agree with it or not. Personally, I like you very much. You aren’t the first I’ve had a little ‘chat with about content, interactions with others, or certain terms terms being used etc. and you won’t be the last. And over the years I’ve had to let about four or five bloggers go for one reason or another though a couple were more of a consensus ‘things aren’t working out’ parting of the ways. You blatantly told me ‘no’ and were openly defiant in regards to my request for a bit of ‘toning it down’ in style and content or being a bit more selective in what you posted on this particular blog. And your immediate next post was borderline at best in regards to what I had just asked. In the end, I set the tone and focus of the blog. I vet, hire and fire the writing staff, and approve or disapprove of all content posted.That’s my job and responsibility. I’m not perfect and that’s why I do have a group of advisors that I do consult before major decision (site design changes, staff changes etc) to make sure that I am not going off half-cocked but making a reasonable decision that I believe is best for the blog as an entity. Group blogs must have a firm hand on the tiller and that is the role I must adhere to even when it may make me uncomfortable or puts me in a bad spot. I hope your anger abates, that this opens up some other opportunities for you, and that you build upon the experiences from Conclub to be more successful in the future. For everything there is a season, but sometimes that season ends. Even I have laid the groundwork, so for when I exit the stage the blog will continue on without me.- Dave
  • Susan Shannon

    6 minutes ago

    Susan Shannon

    •  Dave, you are repeating yourself.  Yes, I was openly defiant- as any self respecting conservative would be.  And I’m proud of it.  Your decision is cowardly (for a Christian), politically unsound & professionally poor.  Enjoy the fruits of your decision.  Anger isn’t what I feel- desperation for the conservative cause is.  You are a traitor to that cause & really should rename your blog, The Libertarian Rag.  You don’t deserve the label of Conservative.
  • David Huntwork

    about a minute ago

    David Huntwork

    •  Sorry you feel that way. I can’t do anything about it. I’ve tried to be as nice and polite as I possibly could with this delicate situation. I do hope you are able to move on to bigger and better thins. I’ve been labeled and called far worse things that that, so I can live with your judgment of me and the blog.

30 comments

  1. Hey Susan, been awhile since we spoke last. Wow. My heart is saddened and there is a very sour taste in my mouth after reading this entry. One thing I will say my Sister in Christ is this… never, NEVER back down from giving God glory and speaking His Truth and as I can see from this entry, you have not. I look forward to keeping up with your blog girl, I’ve put ya in my bookmarked daily favorites 😉 God bless you Susan…

  2. SLR: Not to bring back the paranoia but your message to me was in my spam folder. :)Just found it which is the reason for my delayed response. I am not familiar with Constitution Club but from reading this post, including the copies of your back & forth with it’s administrator, I am thinking the name of their blog doesn’t really jive with their policies. If they are, in fact, not posting great readership, it would seem to this professional marketer that they don’t have (nor do they want) a targeted audience. While “vanilla” is familiar it doesn’t create a lot of passion or excitement.
    Hurray for you for standing by your principals. If you don’t do that then why bother blogging at all?

    • Thanks, Freedom. You know, MANY of my comments & messages to known bloggers & followers & friends are ending up in the SPAM folder. Just imagine how bad it will be when the Progressives get a legal hold of the internet and get their spy software loaded on every server! In any case, I totally agree with you about creating a niche audience. You can NOT please everyone. In any case, the request was unreasonable for any writer. I am what I am and no one can come between me and my God. Thank you again for your reassuring words. Susan

  3. SLR … I left a note at the link.
    quote:
    Strange that you give more thought to people who would prefer to be regarded as secular and never having to do anything with “those crazy Jesus-lovers” . I am talking about your despicable action viz Susan Shannon
    https://shortlittlerebel.wordpress.com/2012/07/26/bible-thumpin-articles-not-welcome-at-constitutionclubs-blog-anymore/

    Freedom of speech and freedom of opinion should be for all…. it is our fundamental right.
    unquote

    Wonder if it will see the light of day. LOL Anyway, it’s better that you know that these guys are not what you thought they were and you are out of there now than sometime in the future.
    I got kicked out of the Canadian Blogging Tories because I use spicy language and since then I feel freer than ever. The air feels fresher, my eyes can see further, my grin is wider. Long live freedom of speech and opinion.

    • Hi Dodo! Your comment was sent to my spam folder- isn’t that weird? Apparently, my comments on blogs where I am a regular contributor are also going directly to spam. Makes a person downright paranoid. Did I ever tell you that BING deleted pages of search results for SLR? I attempted to get a reason from them & they have not responded. The only way they can delete results is if you plagiarize or slander. There is a corrupt element creeping onto the internet. The internet takeover bid is happening in the Senate right now and you can’t even hear a peep about it.

      In any case, thank you for your thoughts & support. I do feel free. Luckily, my traffic & readership are not affected by this one bit. I was generous with C.C. in that I never linked to my own blog. I ‘gave’ them the article so that all comments, traffic, etc went straight to them any way. All my traffic is organically derived from SLR blog, FB, Twitter, Smart Girl Politics, Google, Stumble Upon, etc. I gave them my articles to further the conservative cause, not because they helped me one bit as a blogger. They are attempting to paint me as having ‘hurt feelings’ and ‘having hurt pride’ now. Also, as having a case of ‘sour grapes’. What I have is neither- what I have is outrage that a so-called conservative blog is attempting to limit the Christian free speech of one of its writers! They are protecting the gay pride parade & the homosexual movement as a whole. I wrote the article because it is valid news. We will see Christian speech & Christians themselves be further and further isolated from what many will consider ‘serious’ politics. There is a deep shame of the name of Jesus in all this. You can bet your bottom dollar I will not be silent about it- neither now, nor later! smiles to you out there Dodo!

  4. Thx for the message. I’m sorry to hear it. Not sure the problem with libertarianism as I am libertarian but I know my rights come from God alone not man. At the end of the day all of us are daily challenged by Christ and we are either drawn to him despite the challenge or we push away. Perhaps some are pushing away or perhaps they simply disagree with certain things just as I do. Hard to say. I wish you and them the best and will keep in touch. I’ll link you to my sight though I’m not very active on it of late.

    • Well, Talon, if you read Dave’s comments (which I posted at the end of this article), you will see that it was Libertarians that had a problem with my gay pride parade article because it contained ‘too much’ Christian speech. While you, yourself, may hold Christian beliefs and remain a Libertarian, the Libertarian politicians support gay marriage, gay adoption, plural marriage, plural adoption, no-holds-barred abortion, legalization of all drugs, legalization of prostitution, etc. They CHANGE THE LAW in favor of all these things- they don’t believe that Christian morality should dictate the social laws we have/make. Therefore, they would behave as ACTIVISTS to change the law. This is in direct opposition to conservative political activism. Talon, all I can say is that I have met many individuals who think there is such a thing as conservative Libertarianism- and there may be- in terms of individual beliefs. But the political reality on the ground- where the rubber hits the road- is far different. Libertarian politicians do the voting- and they vote for things that Christians can not abide. I think that as the next couple years unfold, you will find yourself, as a Christian, faced with a choice between loyalty to the Libertarian cause vs. your Christian beliefs. I wish you well, Talon.

      • Susan please don’t assume my loyalty to any but Christ.

        I am politically a libertarian more than conservative because I am a Constitutionalist true to our founding principles which are based in scripture, not modern ideologies. I could care less what other “libertarians” define as liberty and I observe “conservative” leaders all too often reject our founding principles. Homosexuality is actually antithetical to liberty as it is a from of bondage just as certain heterosexual addictions are.

        I will always be true to my constitutional libertarian beliefs regardless social winds.

        “Our Constitution was made only for a moral and religious people. It is wholly inadequate to the government of any other.” – John Adams

      • I agree with your point about the so-called conservative movement. Do you think that the conservative movement is not strictly Constitutionalist in nature? I always felt it was. I know I sure am. That being said, this move by a co-called ‘conservative’ blog demonstrates the Christian cowardice at the center of some/many conservative groups. That is why I think Christians will become, eventually, their own political movement- we will be defined first & foremost by our love of Christ. I believe we will see ourselves isolated politically as the larger political narrative rolls forward.

      • The Conservative movement is different from “conservative” leaders. While Reagan wasn’t perfect he embodied conservative principles better than any in our lifetime but just as the Democrat party left him, the Republican party now has as well.

        Leftists have a legitimate claim against the big spending wasteful leadership of the GOP in the last decade despite the fact they have doubled down under Obama and with each additional program personal liberty and responsibility are struck another paralyzing blow.

      • See, I see conservatism as separate from the Republican Party. The Republicans lost the ‘conservative’ mantel long ago. The Tea Party is basically conservative, although they have a lot to be desired in terms of professionalism. Conservatism, in my mind, is a broader social movement among Christians who adhere to a strict interpretation of the Constitution. We are in line with the thoughts & beliefs of the Founding Fathers- all of whom believed that GOD is the basis for all law. The trouble with all ‘isms’ is that they morph & change over time. I believe that eventually Christians will just be ousted from formal political parties & movements until we become one of our own. I was thinking the Saint Party would be appropriate! ;-D

    • Thanks, Jessica. Yes, I’m ok. I had to defend myself from the lies being told by Dave in public. I have loved C.C. and have only promoted it. I also admire the writers at C.C.- I like a lively debate and don’t always agree with the stand point of other authors- but I have always been professional about it and all my comments were in public and attached to the articles in question. His implication that I was unhappy with the blog or with other writers is blatantly false and was an attempt to cover the new political direction of the blog. His intent to paint me as some disgruntled writer, saying that I have hurt pride & feelings, irritated me to no end. The firing of a conservative writer for her Christian speech from a conservative blog is valid news. He just couldn’t handle his own actions & words. Lastly, C.C. did not contribute to my readership at all. All my hits & audience come from my own blog, from Smart Girl Politics, Stumble Upon, Linked In, Twitter & FB. I wrote for C.C. (as one of their top writers) to contribute to the cause. I never linked back to my own site because I was gracious enough to allow all interest (via hits & readership) to go to C.C. exclusively. In the end, this has worked out for me because this ‘firing’ does zero to my readership. So Dave’s ‘sour grapes’ accusation is false. I have never needed C.C. for my readership. I am very thankful that NEO allowed me to have the discussion on his blog- I hope it added to his hits! lol! In any case, I thank you for your support. Jessica, this isn’t about loyalty. This is a political reality: I believe that Christians will be thrown out of every political party until they basically become a political movement of their own. We need to be solid and stand together. God is the reality of all politics- past, present & future.

      • Good you are OK. I can see all you say is true.
        You are so right. All we do confesses Christ, and Him crucified, and on that there can be no compromise. He is the top and the bottom of all we do, and if we are to be told that some other cause requires us to be quiet, well, that other cause can go to the other place🙂
        Good on you.

  5. Wow Susan. Really? Your lack of self-control and professionalism is obvious throughout this whole thing. And it only confirms that the blog’s collective decision to ‘release you’ from your Conclub posting privileges was the correct thing to do. You are one heck of a loose cannon. I’m sorry to see it. If you want to work for other people in the blogosphere you’ll need to learn to conduct yourself a bit better and learn to work and ‘play’ well with others. If you are ever asked to write for anyone ever again I’ll be sure to point out to them that they’ll need to watch their backs and that you’ll attempt to burn them if things go sour for any reason. Trustworthiness means a lot in the conservative blogosphere and you have shown your true character here for all to see.

    – Dave – site administrator Constitutionclub.org

    • “Trustworthiness means a lot in the conservative blogosphere ”

      I agree Dave. A reader should know that when a blog says it is ‘conservative’ that it IS conservative. You can say whatever you like, dear. I am a loose cannon for telling the truth of what you did? Unlike you, I think it is of critical important to call out the pseudo- RINO, politically-correct voices who wish to claim the mantel of Conservative. You do us all an injustice with your leadership on C.C. Burn you? You burned yourself. If you thought you could attempt to kill my (or anyone’s) Christian free speech and go unscathed, I am afraid you are very naive- which is surprising at your age. I think you have gotten a little too used to people begging & scraping before your perceived magnificence. There is not one word that I wrote that was exaggerated, a lie or anything but what you, yourself did or said. If your own actions & words embarrass you, then how can I help you? When you make your own bed, don’t blame others when you have to lie in it.

      I, too, am thrilled at your tiny, little kitchen cabinet’s decision to free me. Had I known what weak political minds resided in that kitchen, I would have removed myself ASAP. Of that, you can rest assured.

    • Thanks, Dope. I appreciate that. Sometimes, when you are just doing what you do, someone who you thought was behind you suddenly turns on you. In that moment, all hell breaks loose and you find out who your friends are.

  6. Since when did libertarian = liberty to tolerate what we tolerate? Do not even non-libertarians do that, so how is that accounted to them as virtue? Still, best to know where you stand. Good on you though for not buckling🙂 You got one new follower at least🙂

    • Thanks, Jessica! I actually feel liberated. There is absolutely nothing better than getting lambasted for Jesus. C.C. is in its death swoon. I posted Dave’s & my FB conversation below as an update if you’re interested. I am convinced that people today are looking for genuineness. We are all so sick of people talking around the Truth. There IS an absolute truth out there. We, as humans, should be seeking it with all our might- not attempting to squish it down and make it more palatable for people. ‘The truth shall set you free’ takes on new meaning for me today. I feel I have arrived.

      • Yes, the truth sets us free, and it is not an it or a concept, it is the person of Our Lord Jesus Christ – who told us His disciples would suffer and be reviled and mocked – so you are in the best of company🙂

      • Jessica, that’s just what I was thinking today. I feel so good that I’m going to take the kids to their Middle School track. A few laps will feel great- sunny & bright out. The Lord is smiling on me today and I feel marvelous! Jessica, welcome again to Short Little Rebel!

Please join the conversation! All comments are monitored, so if you have a private note you wish to leave, just say so. Also, all profane or unhelpful comments will be deleted. Thank you!

