I Would Be Genetic Garbage To The Confederacy

981505908359351bdbde29935f7067f6I asked my Facebook readers a question. I asked them whether or not a Confederate plantation owner would have allowed his son to marry me in 1865-1869 time period. I didn’t explain why I asked. Most of my readers found this question very difficult to answer mostly, I would imagine, because it might hurt my feelings. After all, I am half Korean and the answer would definitely be, ‘no’. Some got very upset and unfriended me on the spot. Apparently, this was a ‘liberal’ question and I had no right to ask it as a Conservative-  or it was a ‘trap’ of some kind. Many became exceedingly angry that I asked it at all. Quite a few wouldn’t answer the question but deflected by trying to say that Koreans wouldn’t have allowed the marriage either or that no one in the United States at the time would have allowed the marriage. All around, it was like pulling teeth to get anyone to answer. I gave several days to allow people to answer. I told a story about my mother’s immigration to America to settle everyone down and to give some perspective about why I am asking this question.

Apparently, my readers have forgotten something very important about Short Little Rebel. And that is this: I am not White. At least, not ALL white. Even I had forgotten that for a while.

And yet, so many of them are asking me to support a flag that represents a political entity that fought strenuously to enslave a race of people based on their genetics alone. Why would I support a flag that represents a people that would fight a bloody war because they believed that white genetics was superior over any other kind of genetics, including mine?

They have failed to consider this.

But when I asked this question, many of them started to realize this and it panicked them. This is why some of them instantly unfriended me before they could receive and read this article. They have come to know and respect me- it’s become personal now. Now they will be holding a flag, supporting a flag, fighting for a flag that personally insults me, their friend and Christian sister. They can’t handle it at that level. I don’t blame them.

Are they going to tell me ‘to get over it’? I think not. Are they going to tell me, the most conservative person they know, the one who is now in court, suffering for Christ because she is standing at the very forefront of Conservatism for telling the truth, that I am a liberal, a fake? Who is the one being sued for $3 million after all? Who is the one telling the truth for women? Who is the one never backing down to liberals? Who has suffered her reputation being completely ruined for the sake of Christ? Them? No. Not them. They are nice and safe in their homes. Where are their blogs? Are their names plastered all over the internet? Are hate groups plastering photos of their children and their home all over the internet? Are hate groups imitating them all over the internet? Are hate groups putting their personal phone numbers all over the internet so that angry people are calling their homes and yelling at their children? no, not them. They are safe in their homes. Have they ever exposed themselves to an ounce of danger for their political or religious beliefs? No! They are safe in their homes! These people who dare to unfriend me, call me names, curse and spit at me now over this flag, call ME a liberal, make false accusations, and look askance at me- what have THEY ever sacrificed for Christ? NOTHING! And yet, because they can’t bear that that now say, “Hey, Guys, that flag insults me personally,” they would cast me out. And they call me a hypocrite. huh.

Here is what I want to say to you all. You have seen the ugliness of those who are in your crowd. Aren’t you terrified of those who actually believe that the Bible advocates racism? Aren’t you ashamed of those who have written boldly on my page that even God meant the races to stay separate- that even Jesus was racist? Doesn’t it deeply disturb you that your own FB friends believe that the bible advocates and condones slavery? Haven’t you noticed that I refuse to even justify these people with biblical answers because they are so absurd? I left them up for your shame- to convict you.   And yet, not one of you even corrected them!  Are you so warped that you would rather have them on your side then give one inch and correct them in their complete heresy against God?  Or, dare I imagine that you share their heresy?  If so, tell me now like a man/woman and let us part ways.  Indeed, I do not want relationship with you if you share these thoughts.  Let’s get it over with now.  Declare yourselves, you cowards and I can cleanse my page of your type.  You should have corrected these people.  Shame on you.

These are the people you share space with. These are the people who love the flag with you. This is the devil’s work. These are not Christians and if they are, they must be taught, not tolerated by us. If they refuse to be taught by us, we must remove them from our company. I tell you now, that every racist on my page that will not relent in their belief that God is racist will be removed from my page. I have only tolerated them for your sake- because the Holy Spirit has told me to be patient.

Here is another thing I want to tell you. I know that there are many of you who are not truly racist. But you are like children who have been bullied too long. And you are merely reacting to that bully. We all resent Obama, Al Sharpton and Jesse Jackson with all our hearts. They are the Bullies- Obama being the most evil of all. He and his party have implemented bill and bill that have stripped the American people of right after right. Who knows this better than I? But what you fail to see is that just this once, the bully is taking something evil from you. And all you are doing is having a knee jerk reaction to it, combined with help from an evil seed that lies within you. You are so used to hating Obama, Al Sharpton & Jesse Jackson that when their slimy fingers reach for something of yours, you simply grab harder. If they want it, you don’t want them to have it. If they try to give it to you, you don’t want it. I GET it. And, they, along with the gay community, are taunting and laughing at us about it. Do you think I haven’t received taunting cartoons about this?

I have. I understand exactly what pain you feel. But that doesn’t make you moral. It just makes them evil. Don’t you know that satan is very strategic? He often plays both sides of a war. Just because the Bully is taking something from you doesn’t make that thing a good thing. This thing he wants from you is a bad thing. And satan is enjoying watching you grab for it back. He is enjoying watching you react to the taunting. He is very satisfied to watch you disobey God over a child’s laughter. Are you, God’s Child, so easily manipulated?

I hope not. We are to be wiser than that. I asked you that question to make it personal. To show you that this flag insults me, your friend. Do you consider me to be ignorant? If so, then it is you who are ignorant. You would discount six years of blogging and agreement over this flag and call me ignorant? Do you consider me to be the racist? Again, I laugh at you. Do you consider me to be unable to understand your feelings? Again, false thought. I see you and understand you perfectly. Have you ever stopped to consider that it might be you who is blinded here?

No one else is reminding me of a time and a political entity that would fight a war to subject me- to tell me that my very being, the very genetic stuff of which I am made is trash. No one else wants to preserve that notion. So all your arguments that racism was everywhere in 1865 or that Koreans wouldn’t have allowed the marriage, etc don’t matter. Did they fight a war to prevent that marriage? Did they fight a war to preserve the distinction? Did they fight a war to ensure that you, the white person, remained on top of the genetic order? no, no they did not. Nor are they here today waving any flags that remind me of their prior racism. Only YOU wish to fly that flag against me and my genetics. Think about that. AND you want me to fight along with you. How absurd are you being?

You have forgotten that I am not White, friends. I have half white, half Korean blood running through my veins.  And the Rebel in me is from my Korean mother, not from your South- you don’t own the term ‘Rebel’, you know. I never think of myself that way. In fact, that is not why I originally opposed this flag. I, myself, forgot that fact until a racist, Jonathan, started talking about genetic ‘purity’ and turned my stomach upside down. It was then that I realized I could appeal to you on this basis alone and shame you into seeing the truth. My original opposition was purely based on your Christian witness. But then I realized that if I had lived during that time, I, too, would have been seen as less than white people. I don’t think I like that notion at all. YOU would have ALL seen me as less than you. It would have been built into the culture. Please don’t deny it.

One of you asked me how I knew that every soldier felt that blacks should remain as slaves and fought for slavery. This is how I know: soldiers happily shot and/or hung black runaway slaves- every. single. time. Now. Unless you would like to show me otherwise, this is proof positive of my position. So, it is completely absurd to say that the soldiers didn’t believe in slavery- they did. They believed in white superiority. That was just how it was back then. And you all know it. Did the rest of America believe it? I don’t know. But I do know that they didn’t decide to fight a war to preserve that notion. And I do know that the leader from the North did decide to free the slaves. No matter what you want to say about Lincoln, the proof is in the pudding, as they say. That is just historic fact- he freed the slaves. That is a far cry from what the south did. They. Did. Fight. For. Slavery.

Thus, that flag will evermore stand for slavery. I acknowledge that there were other reasons for the war. Who ever said there weren’t? But that is exactly like saying that WWII was about more than killing Jews, isn’t it? Does that redeem the Nazi flag? No, it doesn’t. A brutal stain is a brutal stain.

I, your friend, am offended by that flag. My own genetics are insulted. I, Susan Shannon, would be considered less than you, my readers, by those who fought under that flag. They would fight to keep this order of things. I REJECT that notion. I am quite happy the South lost. That was God working for the best in this nation. You may have also fought for other good things, but like today, all the good in the world can’t make up for the one great evil in your midst. If you think a Christian can fight for a slave ridden flag and still call himself/herself a Christian, then you are quite mistaken in the matter. The one evil thing overshadows all the good in you. If you live a perfect life in Christ but commit incest, can your goodness overcome the evil of incest? No, your whole life is corrupted by the evil. Can you say you love God and then murder someone? No, the evil of the murder ruins the good in you. Repentance from the evil is required before the rest can reconcile to God, who represents all good. You can’t say you love God and disobey him. This is to lie. You can’t Be a Christian and support a flag that represents slavery or genetic superiority of one race. Until you repent of this sin, you are fully ostracized from God. And lastly, less significantly, if you fight for that flag, you fight against me, your friend and sister in Christ.

And before I let this subject go, I have a duty to address those of you who continue to say that the Civil War wasn’t ‘really’ about slavery.  Or, you want us all to ‘forgive and forget’ that part of history while out of the other side of the mouth scream that you want to ‘preserve Southern History’.  Oh, and let’s not forget your statements that ‘most whites’ didn’t feel that way.  Just look at all the proud whites standing around celebrating these lynchings please, and be ashamed of your ridiculous statements today.  There is just too much historic evidence against your defensive amnesia today.   THIS is Southern history too and if you want so badly to preserve it, you must preserve this right along with your beautiful notions of broad porches, sweet tea and blossoming gowns, ok?  You don’t get to be complete and utter hypocrites and only remember ‘the good times.’  You want to PRESERVE YOUR HISTORY with a flag?  Then, fine.  I will GIVE you your history.  And I will not let you forget it.  Either take the whole pill- or none of it.  But don’t act like this didn’t happen.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You must bear the guilt of that. I’m sorry.

29 comments

  1. A Southerner of that time might well let his son marry you. It was neither illegal nor THAT uncommon for White men to marry full-blooded Asians in 19th century America. A man from the Western Terrorities less so due to the interactions with- and opinions of Americans towards the Chinese.

    On the other hand, a plantation owner – the criteria you set – would be unlikely to allow his son, especially the only or eldest son – to marry you…or any other woman who was not from the right family irrespective of her racial makeup. It’d be more about the inheritence and future upkeep of the family land and name than anything else as such marriages were better called mergers.

      • Ah. Yes, I’m sure it does seem crazy. To tell you the truth, I am shocked by my own readership. We are Americans. I haven’t been widely exposed to people who actually think there is a ‘south’ and a ‘north’ still. I didn’t think these people still existed. I thought it was long gone from our nation. So I am completely taken aback by the number of people who actually love this stupid flag. I have never seen them love the American flag like this. They have never defended the American flag like this. That is why I wrote one of my articles called ‘Where were you when we needed you?’ That one really got them mad. lol. But truly. These people can identify with this flag because it’s easy. But they refuse to identify with the American flag because it’s harder. They don’t want to do the hard homework that is required to care about America today. Instead, they choose the daydream of Rex Butler and Scarlett O’Hare. It can make my stomach turn if I am not careful. When I see people waving that flag with such energy and passion, I wonder why they didn’t care about our nation this much. The confederacy is dead and yet, some of them actually say, ‘it will rise again and save our nation.’ I kid you not. I want to scream. I didn’t know we had this element. people I once respected are saying things about God and Jesus that shock me to my core. Apparently, God and Jesus were racist too in their eyes. I had no idea the company I was keeping. Better late than never. The true racists will be unfriended and banned from my page. Those that refuse to see their folly will also go. We are ONE nation, not two. While I hate Black Victim mentality, I love black individuals. Heck, I hate all victim mentality- it just so happens that black Americans happen to have it worse than others right now. It has become cultural. But we, as Christians, need to remember that this doesn’t apply to individuals. Every individual is unique and no assumptions can be made. Everyone deserves their own opportunity to shine or disappoint. I’m afraid that too many of these people have lost their way. They have a seed of hatred that was planted long, long ago and is hiding behind that flag. Today, they are hiding behind politics. They were hiding behind my skirt as well. Well, I want to shoo them out now. I don’t want them on my page anymore. What good are Christians if they can’t love their neighbor as themselves? If they already hate someone just because of genetics, it is useless. They have to go.

  2. First off I agree about the flags representation. However, I would like to point out a few things we all need to remember about slavery. Every group of people have had slavery. Blacks sold each other to the slave traders, the American Indians made slaves of those they conquered or won a particular battle with. According to colonial records, the first slave owner in the United States was a black man.

    Prior to 1655 there were no legal slaves in the colonies, only indentured servants. All masters were required to free their servants after their time was up. Seven years was the limit that an indentured servant could be held. Upon their release they were granted 50 acres of land. This included any black man purchased from slave traders. Blacks were also granted 50 acres upon their release.

    Anthony Johnson was a black from modern-day Angola. He was brought to the US to work on a tobacco farm in 1619. In 1622 he was almost killed when Powhatan Indians attacked the farm. 52 out of 57 people on the farm perished in the attack. He married a female black servant while working on the farm.

    When Anthony was released he was legally recognized as a “free Negro” and ran a successful farm. In 1651 he held 250 acres and five black indentured servants. In 1654, it was time for Anthony to release John Casor, a black indentured servant. Instead Anthony told Casor he was extending his time. Casor left and became employed by the free white man Robert Parker.

    Anthony Johnson sued Robert Parker in the Northampton Court in 1654. In 1655, the court ruled that Anthony Johnson could hold John Casor indefinitely. The court gave judicial sanction for blacks to own slave of their own race. Thus Casor became the first permanent slave and Johnson the first slave owner.

    Whites still could not legally hold a black servant as an indefinite slave until 1670. In that year, the colonial assembly passed legislation permitting free whites, blacks, and Indians the right to own blacks as slaves.

    By 1699, the number of free blacks prompted fears of a “Negro insurrection.” Virginia Colonial ordered the repatriation of freed blacks back to Africa. Many blacks sold themselves to white masters so they would not have to go to Africa. This was the first effort to gently repatriate free blacks back to Africa. The modern nations of Sierra Leone and Liberia both originated as colonies of repatriated former black slaves.

    However, black slave owners continued to thrive in the United States.

    By 1830 there were 3,775 black families living in the South who owned black slaves. By 1860 there were about 3,000 slaves owned by black households in the city of New Orleans alone.

    The Civil War was not about slavery alone, in fact that was not the main crux of the war, though most people forget it was about the Confederate Constitution. A splinting of our nations in ideologies. The Constitution of the Confederate States of America was the supreme law of the Confederate States of America, as adopted on March 11, 1861, and in effect from February 22, 1862 through the conclusion of the American Civil War. The Confederate Flag represented the Confederate States. Unfortunately, people do not realize that there is fact several flags slightly different and you can see them at http://www.dixiescv.org/flags-csa.html . The flag that was used mostly by the KKK was in fact the USA flag and then also some used one of the confederate flags. It is that particular confederate flag that needs to come down. Everyone knows which one it is. However, the American flag was also used. Should we remove it also, because it too represents white supremacy?

    I will address a similar issue. The Declaration of the Independence refers to my ancestors the merciless Indian Savages. My ancestors are in fact Cherokee. My grandfather was full Cherokee. Shall we burn the Declaration of Independence for the evil done to the Indian Nations of this country? They marched my ancestors on the Trail of Tears, while they sang Amazing Grace, no less. Being that a lot of Cherokees had become Christians in the 1600’s.

    There is enough wrong that has been done by all colors. We really need to get past the past and even if the flags are taken down, it will not change the hearts of those who want to be racist. There are people who legitimately believe the flag is part of their heritage because their family member fought and died for the Confederate Constitution that had nothing to do with racism. Believe it or not, some of those people are black. Thanks for hearing my point of view.

    • If my point were about general slavery & racism, then your comment would some relevance, but it’s not. Also, slavery was a huge reason for the war. Revisionists want to now call it ‘economy’, that’s all. You have missed the point like so many. No one is going around fighting to wave flags to represent Indian prejudice TODAY, are they? no. Your issue with the Declaration of Independence is interesting, though (thanks for that historic tidbit- you are quite right! I looked it up!). But that document is what it is. It can’t be changed now. No one is saying to change the colors or design of the flag. But it should no longer be flown. The laws that represented the racism in the Declaration of Independence have been nullified and corrected since the doc. were written, but the original can’t be changed- it is in a museum where it must ever be.

      This issue is worth talking about TODAY because people are trying to fight to keep the Confederate flag flying right now. You can’t make the same argument against the American flag because it represents a living country- it must fly for the good or bad of it. Not so the confederate flag- it must be moth balled. Also, I am arguing that Christians don’t have the same freedoms as pagans. We Christians are beholden to God- we are slaves to God. His laws are binding to us. We are to love our neighbors as ourselves. That automatically disqualifies us from flying that flag.

      thanks for your viewpoint, but this isn’t about general racism. It’s about people actively fighting TODAY to preserve and push racism and a symbol of racism into our faces RIGHT NOW. No one else is doing that. So your point is moot.

      • My point is not moot. My facts are not altered history and all the the information is verifiable. You’ve made yourself judge over other peoples hearts or intent of their hearts. Yes, there are those who are using the one of flag for racist means, but there are people who are not, and just because their side did not win in the Civil War, doesn’t mean they have to give up a part of their heritage. The KKK is stilling using the USA flag also and it doesn’t matter if it is the flag of our nation, it is being used for white supremacy and it was used by them long before the Confederate flag was. To the Native American, the USA flag is still one of oppression and white supremacy. But they know not all whites are bad. I’m not sure why you think God has appointed you judge of all these people. I’ve watched you on your FB page bully people into agreeing with you. Non of this is Christian. If you want people to change you give them Jesus and the love of Jesus. You don’t bully them with your view of how things should be. And you don’t especially tell other Christians who Jesus died for, that they are not worthy to go to heaven because they don’t agree with you. I’m not sure why you have gone this route, because I’ve always loved your writings, but this is wrong. Just like you believe you are trying to reason with us, I’m trying to reason with you. Love is greater and I know the Lord said to not be entangled with the affairs of this world, so if they fly the flag it matters not to me and if they don’t it matters not to me. Change the heart with the love of Jesus, that will get rid of racism. You are not qualified to judge another Christians heart just because they did not answer your question; the question that started this whole thing.

      • JLS, How can I bully anyone? People are adults. If they feel guilt or can’t answer why they are doing what they do, then that is the Holy Spirit convicting them, not me. I can’t force anyone to feel or think anything, can I? As far as I can see, people are doing and thinking whatever they want. However, I have the right and even the responsibility to shine the bright light of truth on racism, pride, disobedience wherever I believe it is needed. And it is most definitely needed here. I know my Christian friends desperately want me to stop it because they want their cake and to eat it too. They want to be disobedient (have that flag) and have God’s blessing too. But they can’t do it on my page. Every time I see one of those icons on my page, that represents me as well. I won’t tolerate it.

        I also stand up and represent my Lord. That flag represents ugliness to too many people. I know that it doesn’t represent that to some people. But the fact that it does represent ugliness and slavery to a race of people means that God’s Chosen must put it down. We are not free as pagans are free. That is what you don’t or refuse to, I should say, understand. We must sacrifice everything for our neighbors in the name of love. You lecture me on love, do you? What about your love for black people? That is the great irony here. The very reason I am here, talking to you with my articles is because you are failing in the second greatest commandment- to love your neighbor. And yet you want to tell me to love you and allow you to NOT love your neighbor. That isn’t love, Sweetie. That is me turning my eyes away so that you can commit a crime in God’s eyes. And Ezekiel 1 & 3 tells me that I can’t do that. Somehow, someway, you have gotten things mixed up in your head as to what the Bible means and how we are to conduct ourselves. You are sinning against God. It is not right for me to ignore you. Nor is it loving for me to do so.

    • I’m not sure if this is still available for a response or not, but I would like to clarify a few things. First off I never saw all the nasty remarks made to you by those on your Facebook page concerning the confederate flag. I will apologize for thinking you were just bullying people to force them to read your article. You have every right to ask people to remove their flag or leave your page. After thinking about the point your were making, I understand what you are saying. I was offended at those who say they are Christian and placed the rainbow flag over their profile picture and I in fact removed one of my own family members who claims to be a Christian but agrees with homosexual marriage and all that nonsense. I am not going to have the gay flag flying on my Facebook page via another persons profile picture. I don’t know anyone who cares about the confederate flag one way or the other. Those I know who use it, use it as a sign of rebellion against the government. I’ve never met a black person who gives a hoot about the flag. But if it offends anyone, you are right, that it should not be flown and if it hurts the heart of anyone, it is wrong for any Christian to place it on their Facebook page or have anything to do with it. If it offends you, they should be concerned because you are our sister in Christ. So I will stand corrected. I feel bad because you thought I did not care about your feelings or those of the black in the south. Slavery exist before there was a flag, so I’ve never made a connect to the flag. I’ve never lived in the south and do not know how it is down there. I have my experiences and written history, that is all I have to go by. . I was in Los Angeles during the Watts Riots and there was no Confederate flag. Our city was burned and people of all races died. Racism and hate and a lie, ignited a city. I’ve seen racism first hand. I have feared for my life because of racism. I was never on your FB page but I will answer the question you asked. First, you look white to me, so based on your looks, I’m sure someone back in the day would have been allowed to marry you as long as you kept your heritage a secret I would guess. I hope this helps clarify my heart on the matter.

      • JLS, before responding to this comment of yours, I want to address your other, rather nasty comment which I refuse to publish. You state that you “started getting emails from your blog demanding answers to a question you had asked.” That is quite impossible. When you sign up for this blog, you simply receive notifications when I publish a new article. It would literally be impossible for me to send you these types of email. You state that I “keep sending and sending and sending” my article? Impossible! I can’t even ‘send’ it ONCE! My blog site is static. It literally sits in one location in
        California. YOU must come here to read it. I don’t even have a list of my followers. So, that is a false accusation.

        However, perhaps you are a FB reader as well. If that is the case, again, I have never ‘sent’ anything to anyone demanding anything. There are certain individuals

          who came to MY wall

        to discuss the confederate flag issue. In fact, they chose to participate to such a degree and so many times that I ended up requesting that they read a new article I wrote to voice my personal take on the Confederate Flag as a half Korean woman- I also wanted to give photographic evidence to counter the clear internet lies that they were telling on my FB page that the Civil War wasn’t about slavery and that only a small percentage of whites agreed with slavery. (even then, my request didn’t come in the form of an email or even a private message- it came in the form of a simple tag. They received notice that I tagged them in a post- that’s it. I tagged them twice.). In any case, your accusation that I somehow harassed you or any of my readers by sending any kind of emails to them is an outright lie. If I was you, I would check myself before I went blabbing in my anger online. Check your facts and make sure you know what the heck you are talking about. If people come to MY page and read MY wall, then that is not me emailing people, is it? Obviously, people were very curious about this topic and voluntarily came back over and over again to take part in the conversation. I have absolutely no control over their actions! Yours neither!

        You also accused me of mocking those who believe that God is a racist and think I should have taken the time out of the conversation to ‘teach’ them instead. First, I never mocked them- that’s a bald faced lie again. Please go back and read. I called them racists- but that is just stating the facts. The reason I didn’t correct or teach those who said that Jesus and God were racists on my page is because they wouldn’t have listened- it would have been a distraction right there and then. My intention, Ms. Critical, was to go back and private message them and try to teach them behind the scenes. I did that and GUESS WHAT? Just as I knew, not one of them was interested in learning a thing. Because guess what, Jeanie L Sombers? People who are so racist that they claim Jesus, God and the Bible condone racism WANT to be racist. They see what they want to see in the Bible. Education isn’t their problem. Hate is their problem. I have a lot of experience with haters after all these years of blogging. You don’t. I left their comments up for one purpose: to shame the rest of you- I wanted you so see what kind of company you were keeping. As for my comments concerning white women doing their so-called good things for poor black women and their babies all the while refusing to respect them in the larger issues of life- well, I won’t take my sentiments back- if they bother your conscience, then you need to change your actions. What kind of love is it that you proudly toot that you are knitting a blanket for your daughter’s pregnant and poor black friend’s baby but can’t respect her enough to not fly a slave flag in her face? Yes, to me, that is about the most racist thing in the world- and the sentiments harken back to those plantation days when the women then thought about all ‘them cute black babies’. If you truly want to love and respect black women, then treat them as equals. Respect them politically. AND knit them a blanket!

        Now, as to my pastor, Oh! how he does regret ever having that debate with me in public! lol! He and I are the best of friends. But YOU are shameful for bringing it up again, aren’t you?

        As to being hard on ‘my brothers and sisters in Christ’, that is where we differ. I don’t think they ARE my brothers and sisters in Christ. If they don’t love God, then they aren’t Christians. Even satan has faith enough to know that Christ will save us from our sins. But without Obedience and calling Christ our Lord; without making ourselves slaves to God, we have not received salvation. Those who refuse to love their neighbors as themselves are not Christians. Especially when they are that stubborn about it. And we Christians have a responsibility to be harsh with each other in this matter.

        Now, to this comment, which is much more conciliatory in tone. All I can say is that I welcome your change of tone. I know that white racism exists. I have written about it and I am just as harsh against it. And my readers LOVE when I lash out against Black Victim Mentality, don’t they? They LOVE when I talk about White Racism, don’t they? But when turn around is fair play, oh, don’t they hate my guts? But I serve the Truth, not you. Here is all I can say about White Racism: What if Black People created a Flag to commemorate the Watts Riots as a Good Thing? And wanted to Celebrate it with a flag that commemorated all the whites that were killed during the riots? How would you feel about that? Well, that’s about how they feel about that flag. I’m glad you have a better perspective about things in this comment- but like I said, I really can’t tell which comment came first.

      • I’m not lying about the emails from your blog. I received a couple one day and then I received 3 the next morning about the new article. However they are sent out, I received multi messages about it. Which made me wonder what was going on. I went to your blog to find out why I was receiving repeated messages from the blog. I read your blog, so then I went to your FB and read about the question you were persistent in everyone answering. I’m not even on your FB page. And if I had not received the repeated messages from the blog, I probably would have never know about this.

        I have never accused you of being a liar, but here you have accused me of lying and I did not. God is my witness about the emails from the blog. I have not lied about anything. I never said you sent me any personal emails about anything. I said I received repeated emails/messages “from the blog.” However they are sent out when you write a new article, I got it repeatedly. In fact another person told you in the comment section to stop sending him the messages from the blog, (though he was not very nice about it.)

        I tried to share with you my view. You were dismissive of me and then even came back in your second reply and tried to tell me I don’t love my black neighbors.

        I’m not even sure how to address someone who considers me as babbling and being angry. I was neither babbling or angry. I read your comments and those comments made by other people. I considered the tone “mocking,” on your part when it came to those who don’t understand scriptures.
        Why would they want to listen to you later in a private email after the way they were talked to prior? I don’t think I would.

        I’m not even going to address the black woman thing again. I don’t even have a flag and I’m part Indian, Irish and probably black and who knows what else. You are so quick to think you know anything about me or anyone else and you do not. As I stated, I don’t allow the gay flag on my FB page via someones profile picture, you have the same right to ask that people not fly the confederate flag on your FB page via their profile pictures.

        I feel no shame in bringing up your pastor because that is how you talk to people. If you are friends that is good. But I brought it up to show a pattern of how you talk to people.

        Actually, your statement about us having a responsibility to be harsh with each other is not scriptural. In fact it says, it says to address others with tenderness and mercy because we are all capable of being wrong. It says to NOT treat him as an enemy like you are doing.

        “Brothers and sisters, if someone is caught in a sin, you who live by the Spirit should restore that person gently. But watch yourselves, or you also may be tempted. Gal 6:1”

        Gal 6:1 Brothers, if a man be overtaken in a fault, you which are spiritual, restore such an one in the spirit of meekness; considering yourself, lest you also be tempted.

        Well I’m done babbling on this subject. Accepted I will ask you why you didn’t post the young black woman’s video? She after all is black and her view should be seen. Was it because she did not agree with you, that you didn’t post it? Will this even be posted?🙂

      • Jeanie, I know why you got emails from my blog- it’s because you left FOUR comment messages on ONE article. AND when you left those comments, you signed up to get notices if anyone else commented on it. So… again, pay attention to what YOU asked for. Don’t blame others when you get exactly what you asked for. Additionally, I didn’t ask my WordPress readers to answer my question at all. So, you are also erroneous on that point. No matter how many notices you asked to receive from my blog, none of them would have asked (or demanded) for you to do anything- let alone answer any questions. The most they would have said is that I or someone else had commented on the article from which you wanted an update! Again, you really need to clarify your facts. Now, perhaps in your befuddled state, you did go to my Facebook and THERE saw that I was ASKING, not ‘demanding’ my readers answer a question I had out of curiosity. But again, don’t lie and say things that aren’t true. The posts are public and there for all to see. Perhaps you didn’t intend to lie, but you stated falsehoods nonetheless- damaging ones that I don’t appreciate. This is where the ‘angry babbling’ comes in. That is exactly what you were doing. You didn’t want to check facts and you were just having one, big, knee jerk reaction. Would you have me call your ranting and raving and false accusations against me… a ‘reasonable response?’

        Again, to those who didn’t understand scriptures, you can call me ‘mocking’ all you want. But I will give you the opportunity to post my ‘mocking’ words here. But you won’t find them as I left none at all. I was wordless, in fact. I’ve already explained my actions- I know people better than you, it seems. when you have your own blog, you can cast as many pearls you want, ok? But I know a swine when I see one.

        You mistake my desires, like so many others- even though I state it clearly, about the confederate flag. As I have stated a hundred times (it seems), my concern is for your Christian witness. You can not possibly be obeying Christ’s command to love your neighbor, if, as a Christian, you fly that flag. You are wrong about judging ourselves more harshly than we judge outsiders. If I were harsh TO them, then your verses would make sense. But I wasn’t. I was exceedingly patient with them. The discussion went on for over three weeks. I worked with them patiently, I explained and taught and finally had to make a decision. The decision seems harsh, but it was Biblical. We are to cut these from our ranks. And cutting you is part of that decision too- because you, too, refuse to love your neighbor either. You believe your wisdom is greater than Christ’s. I didn’t post the black woman’s video for the reason I didn’t post all the nonsensical posts in support of the confederate flag. It is irrelevant. The fact that so many black people are hurt by that flag is ENOUGH for all Christians to lay it down as a slave of God. It doesn’t matter if a few black people are NOT hurt. Just the fact that so many ARE hurt is enough. The injury is severe enough that we, as slaves to God, must simply obey Christ’s command to love our black neighbors enough to lay it down. It just doesn’t matter to us as Children of God. No amount of worldly pride should prevent us from loving our black brothers. Who cares about Southern Pride? Who cares about history? Who cares about the Confederacy and who won and who lost? Don’t we have a more important Mission? We are here to work on the Great Commission, not to be proud people. If we MUST brag, let us brag on Christ. But to fight like you are fighting, over a nothing, is a shame to God’s name and to Christ’s name. That is why your video is irrelevant. You and the others just can’t see straight. That is because you are so unenlightened right now. ALL you can see is your own pride, your own selfishness, your own desires. You really don’t care what Jesus’ priorities are. If you did, you wouldn’t care one hoot about that flag. You could let it drop from your hands as easily as I can. You could drop it like a piece of toilet paper and never look back. It is meaningless. All your angst is for a nothing. I breath of wind. And you think it is important! You want me to post a video of a woman who also thinks it is important! no! why? it is just a distraction from what I am saying! If even ONE person finds the flag offensive, you should drop it. It. Just. Doesn’t. Matter. The ONLY thing you should stick up for is the Word of God. That’s it. Now, there are caveats to that because God also tells us to obey the law. He also tells us to love one another. Thus, to obey the law is to be loyal to our nation. Also to love our family and friends is also ok. So, we can be loyal to America when fighting our wars. But should this loyalty require disloyalty to God, then we must choose God above country. Ditto for being loyal to our families & friends. Again, if it comes to a choice between them and God, we pick God. But the confederacy is literally nothing. We have nothing that we owe to it. We should not offend or hurt even one soul over it. I hope you will open your eyes, drop your stubborn pride and decide to make Jesus your LORD and become his SLAVE for life- because THAT, my dear, is what salvation really is.

      • You are not listening. I did not post a single comment until after I had already received multi messages from the the blog server. I did not sign up to be notified every time some one comments. Are you even listen. I do not receive notices every time someone makes comments. What is wrong with you? In fact I am not signed up on your blog right now. I came here to see if you posted the video and read the comments. And you are now inferring that I’m a swine. I will not respond to 99 percent of what you just said.

        As to my knowing people, I operated my own website for Christians for those in need of support for years. I created the website and operated it. I helped people from all parts of the world. But then I really don’t have to explain who I am in Christ, because Christ is my justifier.

        I will just leave this as is. You did not post the tape because she would have told you that she doesn’t see things like you do. I will also post this one too, but it probably won’t make your list without being altered or you erasing what people say etc. You can check out Johnathan Gentry’s web page is you want. These are his words. Oh,yeah, he is a black man fighting to get his people to take responsibility for their actions and also to get people to stop being racist at heart. His comments are public at his website. Thanks for the nice Christian chat.

        [link removed]

        “Johnathan Gentry wrote

        People want the Confederate flag removed. When It’s the “sinful” filthy, wickedness of people’s hearts that make them do vile & malicious things that needs to be removed. But again, You’re dealing with people who is focused on the “Outward” instead of the “Inward” parts of men. Carnal minded people can’t capture a Revelation or recognize the times or seasons in which we are living. While many are focused on the outward (a flag). You’re allowing the enemy to run rapid & wipe people out (by mass amounts) inwardly. “Be sober & vigilant/Alert because satan walks around like a roaring lion seeking whom he may devour.” (1Peter 5:8) Understand that this is spiritual warfare. @ it’s finest! Removing a flag isn’t going to do JACK!!! Get off the stuck on the stupid & Step your Spiritual game up! As long as you keep focusing on the outward. You’re allowing satan to sift you like wheat inwardly. We are not ignorant of satan’s devices. (2Corinthians 2:11) Rather if the flag is removed or not. Ask God to take your spirit & mind to Higher ground…Because it’s wickedness in high places. (Ephesians 6:12)
        Jesus said “You are the salt of the earth” but if salt loses its flavor how can it be seasoned?” (Matthew 5:13)”

      • JLS, sigh yes. It’s me not listening. Yes, my blog from WordPress is secretly sending you and only you private messages. ok? that’s really believable. and yes, it was you I called swine. (again, it’s me not listening.) and yes, right, you understand people so well that when you see people calling God and Jesus a racist, you know that all they need is a simple Bible lesson and wha-lah, they will stop believing that. Again, you are right, you really know people. And you are right, I didn’t post the tape because I am really bothered by a different opinion than mine. I really shrink from differing opinions. They scare me so much. That’s why I blog on controversial subjects, because differing opinions frighten me. It wasn’t because it was irrelevant. um hm. You really got me there. As to Mr. Gentry’s sentiments, I agree wholeheartedly. However, even he fails to take into account what other people feel about the flag. And just because his skin is black doesn’t mean that he isn’t also disobeying Christ in the ‘love your neighbor’ department. Christ gave us the two most important commandments: Love God with all your heart, mind and soul and then, love your neighbor as yourself. Grabbing ahold of that flag and stubbornly clinging to it despite the feelings and pain it causes to your neighbor fails the number 2 test. And you not caring that it fails the number 2 test then fails the number 1 test. Of course, I’ve already told you that, LDS, about three times. But, you are right, it’s ME not listening. cheers. Oh, and that was your last comment on my blog- mostly because you are boring me to tears. cheers again.

  3. Ms Shannon:
    I know that you are trying to enlighten folks to the facts as you see them, you should also look into all of the history about the people of the south. There were indeed black owners of slaves in the US in that time period,Anthony Johnson comes to mind and (April)William Ellison 1816 . It was blacks that sold there own kind to slave traders. While you are condemning a 3 x 5 size piece of fabric be sure to add the US flag to the condemnation because it was use by people (and I use the term lightly) that murdered, tortured, raped, and dispossessed an entire race of people. The Natives of this country, then on top of this it was the flag under which the planes that carried the A-bombs flow when the bombs were dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki. I understand that you find the history around this flag offensive but we MUST remember it and we must learn from it. I am sure that you have either heard or read “We must learn from our past or we are doomed to repeat it” History bad or good must be saved for future generations so that they do not become the white hooded, swastika carrying, evil that we have seen in the past. Please remember that there are two sides to all history.
    Oh by the way Ms. Shannon I don’t carry any flags, that is considered prideful and pride is a sin and I happen to be of mixed race also but its more than one race. Thank you for your lively conversations.
    The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the Lord lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace” (Num. 6:23b–26).

    • Hi Camelia, you have also missed the point. If my article were about slavery, then you might have a point, but it’s not. It is about the confederate flag and whether Christians should fly it. No other people who used to own slaves are trying to fly a flag in our faces, are they? No. So I’m not interested in them. I’m only interested in looking at the people who used to own slaves and are trying to wave a flag that reminds us all about their slave owning days.

  4. SUSAN …..I HAD YOU A PRIVATE MESSAGE STARTED….BUT AFTER READING YOUR BLOG I HAD TO COMMENT….THANK YOU….YOUR “PILL” WAS A VERY HARD ONE TO GET DOWN…MAKING ME GAG….LITERALLY!!!….I UNDERSTAND WHERE YOU’RE COMING FROM….WHY YOU ARE TOTALLY AGAINST THE FLAG….AND I’M SORRY….I GET IT…TOOK ME LONG ENOUGH…BUT YES I SEE…..

  5. I am sorry you also fell victim to this outrage. If you would have asked the question to any northern family, Korean family, or southern family, the outcome would have been the same. I am not sure what you are actually trying to prove? As written in many civil war articles, there were many reasons for the war. Yes one of them was about slavery. One was on state rights versus Federal rights. Depending on whom you speak to, either would be their top pick. Yes our History is marred – and so is the Jews, Christians, Muslims and every other religion out there. We are saved by the Grace of Jesus. The past is the past. Southern people have their culture. The Flag controversy is a joke. Let them have their flag. It is not even the Confederate Flag. Most people do not know enough history to even rightfully comment. Trust in your Savior, and as a true Christian, be not easily offended.

    • Mark, I do hope you actually read the article. I did address the issue. Of course it would have been the same. But no one else fought a war to insist upon the racism. AND no one today is wishing to remind me and everyone else about it, right? But not to worry, I am not offended in the least. As I said, my original (and continued) purpose is to protect people’s Christian witness. That is my point here.

  6. Al Benson’s comment is deleted as apparently, he has read my article and has only commented to EXCUSE the South on the basis that the entire country as racist. Furthermore, I am to ‘cut the south’ some slack as I do everyone else. His comment is deleted as I am dead sick of these statements of denial.

    • Spoken like a truly guilty white person who want to continue flying the flag of hate. I’m quite sure you want to latch onto the token black conservative. “Everyone who does evil hates the light, and will not come into the light for fear that their deeds will be exposed.” -John 3:20. I’m sorry, I think I will listen to Christ, not Mr. Carson. He lost my vote a long time ago.

  7. Why don’t you make some descendant of the Confederacy a sandwich you polititically-correct TWAT. And take me OFF this tampon of a blog. STOP SENDING TO:  hillbillydon1723@yahoo.com

    • Why, thank you very much, you racist non-Conservative, non-Christian, Confederate flag gripper for making my point so BEAUTIFULLY! You have just joined the ranks of other ignorant individuals whom I have pointed out for my Christian friends. You stand as a prime example of shame for them. Oh, by the way: you SIGNED UP for my blog, Ding Dong. lol. And the only way you will stop receiving my blog, Mr. Racist Loser, is if you sign yourself off. All I can say is: be careful what you ask for! lol. Because you will get EXACTLY WHAT YOU DESERVE. Just like the spanking you just got. Oh, yes, I just said that.

      Now, Christians friends, do you see who you stand with? Still want to say that the South doesn’t stand for racism? Still want to say that flag grippers are educated and only stand for small government? Wake up, buddies. These are your company, not mine. This man can’t face this article. I can face it because I reject it. I have no guilt whatsoever. Do you?

      • Amen…what an idiot…(spank him again and maybe he will share it with his friends…you know, “get the word out!”).

        People like that are so ignorant – they have to start using obscene references to get their point across. Susan, you did an excellent job of explaining your position (and putting the “flag” right in the face of bigoted, half wits that think “it’s their heritage.” The Bible says, in Acts 6:51-52 “You stiff-necked and uncircumcised in heart and ears…YOU do always resist the Holy Ghost…just as YOUR FATHERS DID, so do YOU! Which of the prophets have not YOUR FATHERS persecuted and they have slain them which before of the coming of the Just One; of whom YOU have now been the betrayers and murderers…”

        In Matthew 23:27-33, “27 Woe unto you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! for ye are like unto whited sepulchres, which outwardly appear beautiful, but inwardly are full of dead men’s bones, and of all uncleanness. Even so ye also outwardly appear righteous unto men, but inwardly ye are full of hypocrisy and iniquity. Woe unto you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! for ye build the sepulchres of the prophets, and garnish the tombs of the righteous, and say, If we had been in the days of our fathers, we should not have been partakers with them in the blood of the prophets. Wherefore ye witness to yourselves, that ye are sons of them that slew the prophets. Fill ye up then the measure of your fathers. Ye serpents, ye offspring of vipers, how shall ye escape the judgment of hell?”

        By “circling the wagons” around a flag that offends so many people…you prove your ignorance. What do you think about neo-Nazi’s today…having parades and carrying the Nazi flag. Why do they do it? Because the are “proud Germans?” NO! They do it to intimidate and make their racist stance known…daring someone to try and “stop their Constitutional right to assemble.” So you hate their flag…in their mind – they won! That is what they are trying to do.

        Which the same thing these bigoted, ignorant, racist pigs want to instill in Black Americans (and Chinese Americans, Korean Americans and even American Indians and other whites).

        I’m glad, Susan, that you took the inspiration of the Holy Spirit and brought about this public rebuke of them. I did not respond to any of the post for two reason: 1. I really did not have time to read them all, and 2: I believed this was your blog and you would delete them during moderation…and if you allowed them, perhaps you wanted to allow them to air “their side” of things…

        I really do not make a habit of rebuking other blog members people who comment…Now that I know what you are “looking for” – I’m more than willing to stand side by side with you can call them out on their ignorance.

        Be Blessed, Susan…you DO HAVE people who are on your side…whether or not they have the intestinal fortitude to say so….well, that’s another story…

        Bob Thibodeau

      • lol, Bob! Have you not been following at all? Of course I have stood against these people! Do you really think, I, a Child of God, would support that terrible flag? How could I? It doesn’t belong in the Conservative movement. It is not part of our movement. It is also not part of the Christian Body and I will cut it out. WE will cut it out. I am sad that so many Christians who agree with me are afraid of these people. But I don’t blame them. People are always terrified of loud people, cursing people, people who call names, people who make false accusations. What kills me is that these flag wavers do these exact things- and they do them exactly like the so-called atheists, homosexuals and liberals do. Who else calls me names, makes false accusations and yells like that? Not I! But they don’t see themselves! Blindness is from satan, no doubt about it. Satan loves to use people where they are. We need to cut these people from our ranks. Love is love. hate is hate. they have forgotten the difference. Politics is not Christianity. One must put God first. One must search out the right and wrong of each decision- regardless of whose ‘side’ it technically is. One can’t be like a blind soldier who is led by an earthly general. We are led by our Lord, Jesus Christ.

Please join the conversation! All comments are monitored, so if you have a private note you wish to leave, just say so. Also, all profane or unhelpful comments will be deleted. Thank you!

