Why Does A Christian Sin- Am I Still Responsible For My Sin? Hmmm…

leavingChristians, do you ever wonder why, when you love God and wish to do only  good, you still manage to sin? Do you get frustrated or even worried about your salvation?  I’ve learned that too many of you never read your Bible or go to church.  So, I want to help you with this question.  Please read these critical words from Apostle Paul found in Romans, Chapter 7:

“14 We know that the law is spiritual; but I am unspiritual, sold as a slave to sin. 15 I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do, but what I hate, I do. 16 And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. 17 As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. 18 For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. 19 For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. 20 Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it.
21 So I find this law at work: Although I want to do good, evil is right there with me. 22 For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; 23 but I see another law at work in me, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within me. 24 What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body that is subject to death? 25 Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord!
So then, I myself in my mind am a slave to God’s law, but in my sinful nature[d] a slave to the law of sin.
Chapter 8 Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, 2 because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who gives life has set you free from the law of sin and death. 3 For what the law was powerless to do because it was weakened by the flesh, God did by sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh to be a sin offering. And so he condemned sin in the flesh, 4 in order that the righteous requirement of the law might be fully met in us, who do not live according to the flesh but according to the Spirit.
5 Those who live according to the flesh have their minds set on what the flesh desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires. 6 The mind governed by the flesh is death, but the mind governed by the Spirit is life and peace. 7 The mind governed by the flesh is hostile to God; it does not submit to God’s law, nor can it do so. 8 Those who are in the realm of the flesh cannot please God.
9 You, however, are not in the realm of the flesh but are in the realm of the Spirit, if indeed the Spirit of God lives in you. And if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, they do not belong to Christ. 10 But if Christ is in you, then even though your body is subject to death because of sin, the Spirit gives life because of righteousness. 11 And if the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead is living in you, he who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies because of his Spirit who lives in you.
12 Therefore, brothers and sisters, we have an obligation—but it is not to the flesh, to live according to it. 13 For if you live according to the flesh, you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live.
14 For those who are led by the Spirit of God are the children of God. 15 The Spirit you received does not make you slaves, so that you live in fear again; rather, the Spirit you received brought about your adoption to sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.” 16 The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children. 17 Now if we are children, then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory.”
Apostle Paul was an intellect of top order- not just for his time, but for all time.  He can be a little difficult to understand at times. His thoughts are huge and he asks a lot from his readers.   In order to follow him,  you must first pray for the Holy Spirit to come to you and give you wisdom.  Then, you must read carefully and slowly- re-read the sentences that confuse you. (I do this often.) Have a good research Bible with you to help clarify difficult passages. Lastly, share your thoughts and questions with other people who read their Bibles.  (I am happy to discuss these or any passages with anyone who finds them confusing.)
These passages basically talk about how people are born as two qualities: flesh and spirit. Our fleshly bodies and minds are earth bound and sin bound. Satan is also earth bound and sin bound. Our original choice to disobey God in order to seek the knowledge of good and evil caused us to be forever cut off from his perfection. It’s clear that when humans obtained the knowledge of evil, we were not immune to it as God, Jesus and the angels are- we succumb to it.  Also, our choice to disobey God was sin in and of itself, thus thrusting us automatically into satan’s hold- this was his greatest trick of all! Thus, we were cut off both in flesh and spirit in that one moment.  We need some way to return to him or our spirit will die along with our flesh when death takes us. No one wants to die as it is not natural to us- this is not how God originally designed us. We were always meant to live forever with him.

Humans wear sin like a skin. It contaminates everything we do. Apostle Paul is saying that we can’t help it. Literally. He isn’t making excuses for us. But he is saying that the Spirit in us (IF you truly have the Spirit of Christ within you) wishes to do better all the time- it loves the law, it loves perfection, it loves Jesus and wants to do all that is pleasing to God. However, your flesh just won’t obey. It is weak and defiled forever until you die. IT is sinning against your spirit, which belongs to Christ. Your two sides are at constant war!

Basically, he’s telling you not to worry- you are not condemned! Be joyful and thankful for that! Jesus voluntarily did something remarkable for you, for me and for every human being smart enough to accept his gift: he decided on his own to make a sacrifice for us all. He would come in the form of our flesh as a symbol of our sin. He would allow his flesh (which symbolized our collective sin) to be killed and let his blood be shed.  His blood was shed symbolically as well, like the priests used to sacrifice lambs, calves and doves for sin and then, he would take his own, beautiful, perfect and sinless blood and he would offer it to God and say, “Father, forgive them all for my sake. Look, here is my body and here is my blood.  I have offered myself as a sacrifice like a lamb to die for them all. I want you to now forgive them all for my sake. ” And because God loves Jesus so much for the love and compassion and mercy he has shown to all of us, whom God also loves, that He has agreed to forgive everyone whom Jesus chooses to forgive.  He will also condemn all that Jesus chooses to condemn.   He will never remember our sins again- because what Jesus did for us was so generous, so beautiful, so perfect, so self sacrificing- his blood cost more than any sheep, lamb or dove could ever cost- it cost the Son of God’s pain, misery, humiliation and life! It is more valuable than the entire universe. Nothing can match the blood of Jesus or the perfect love of his actions. Upon this one act alone, God will forgive everyone now and forever- the only thing required by God is that we HONOR his Son like we honor him. We must believe in his Son, have faith in his Son and call him Lord and Savior. This, is the New Deal that was made. The LAW was no longer how we are to be measured- thank God- because no one can do the LAW perfectly! If the LAW was the measure, Paul argues, then ALL OF US were doomed to hell. But Jesus came and ‘covered’ us with his blood. Our skin of sin no longer matters. His blood and his forgiveness frees us forever from worry and the guilt of what our flesh does. As long as our minds dwell in his Spirit that now lives in us because we have accepted his precious gift of salvation and call him Lord and Savior, then we are again ‘innocent’ of all our misdeeds.  We are now righteous again and can approach our God directly like Adam and Eve once did.  We can talk to him as they once did.  We are restored to God again through this great, self sacrificing act of Jesus Christ, Son of God!

This is Grace, my friends.  To sin and yet be called innocent and righteous.  Don’t continue to walk in ignorance and weakness, Friends.  Open your Bible and read.  Only in this way can you be fully strengthened and armored against the enemy.

11 comments

  1. Was it Einstein who said “things should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler”. A sacrifice so broad that all the world benefits and so effective that it only needs to be made once doesn’t leave us in the disappointment, guilt, and impotence of Romans 7. No, the experience of Romans 7 is meant to drive us towards embracing the resurrection power of Christ which comes to us through that same Spirit of God that raised Him from the dead (Eph 1-2). The “good news” isn’t that salvation is a “get out of jail free card”. The “good news” is that the righteousness that is imputed to us by grace creates in us a real and living counterpart. There will be evidence, in the Day of Judgment, that God’s grace is not only free, it is real. If you enjoy Hebrews, read a little closer and you will find this “effective grace” is what makes this new covenant “better” and why we mustn’t allow sin to have place in our lives.

    • Yes, it does make this new covenant better! In fact, I sit puzzled sometimes when I read that Paul states that when the Spirit of God lives in us that we don’t sin! And yet, he also says that he is the worst of sinners! Of course, he must mean that “I,myself” no longer sins. The reality is this: when “I, myself” no longer sins, then the flesh, though still of this world, sins LESS than before. At least we now have control of “I, myself”. I have struggled to make sense of Romans and Hebrews for so many years and this year is when God has finally opened my eyes- hallelujah! I want to write a full paper explaining how the two correlate so beautifully. It is wondrous in my eyes. So beautiful and magnificent. The Bible is a miracle and no man could have written it. In fact, it was written by so many men, separated by culture, by distance, by time- there is literally no possibility of a conspiracy to create it as it is. And yet, it is 100% in harmony of message and purpose. It is a miracle- if analysts and scientists studied it and it were not about the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, they would fall down and worship the BOOK as an idol itself. It is that amazing. Just look how people idolize things like the Farmers Almanac! When the wisdom and perfection of the Bible are unraveled, no man can stand up against it. It defeats the greatest mind. The greatest, most intelligent mind must concede that it is wondrous in its perfection- one must concede that an outside force was responsible for its symmetry- otherwise, how did all these writers manage it? Those who call themselves scientists and researchers aren’t bothering with this- why? It is intellectually fascinating for anyone who is looking for truth. The Bible is so correct when it says that no one is looking for the truth. that is why they don’t look at the Bible and see what it is. In any case, I didn’t mean to wax poetic. But I get so excited when God reveals something this great to me. Thanks for your comment- stay in touch- I love when Christians love scripture and comment!

    • I just want to say that I’m so confused because I have committed a great sin that I hate and wish to never do again for as long as I live but commiting this sin I still knew Gods laws and Jesus Christ dying on the cross for our sins and had this urge to do it anyways and growing up in a Christian home and knowing the truth can God still forgive me? I’m confused cause I read something on this site where this writer put down that God hardens hearts for a reason and that reason is God doesn’t want salvation for that specific person. Is this really true and has He possibly hardened my heart even tho I feel awful and sinful for what I’ve done?

      • Zach. No. I am the author of this blog and what I said, you misunderstood. If your heart was hardened, you wouldn’t feel bad at all for what you did. You would feel good about it. The fact that you regret it as you do shows that you have the Spirit of God within you. Regret is the sign of the Holy Spirit, my dear. It is the first step in repentance. My love, simply get on your knees in a private place and ask God to forgive you. Spill your heart to him and tell him what you did. Tell him how your heart feels about it. Ask him to forgive you and then, wipe your tears and stand up, knowing that God loves you and has forgiven you. This is our greatest gift from God.

        Those whom God hardens are those who deny him over and over and over again. They are the worst of the worst of the worst. They are God haters. God haters are the worst sinners. They are worse than murderers, adulterers, liars and thieves. Those that actively choose satan over God. Believe me, these people exist. God is so patient with people- but there are some who truly despise Jesus and God and actively work against him in this world. I believe that these are the ones whom God hardens. This is what is stated in the Bible. I don’t write those articles to frighten people into believing that God withholds forgiveness. I write them so that people realize that God is not ONLY about love and forgiveness. He is also a fearful and awesome God. He is to be respected. But you, my love, already repent in your heart. Be sure that God will forgive you. Be well and be lifted up, my brother. Bring it to the Gentlest Soul in Existence, Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior and he will heal you completely. Amen!

  2. Very well interpreted Little Rebel. Paul had previously been a rebel against those that believed on Jesus and yet he was chose as a vessel to lead all nations to the knowledge of the Lord of lords. He is a brilliant man (now with the Lord of lords).

    • Thanks, White Man, he really was/is. I can’t get over his genius. If he were alive today, I have no doubt he would be on the upper side of the genius scale. Sometimes I truly struggle to understand his concepts. I have to read, re-read and then read again. I have to admit, I am still struggling over some of his writings. I pray all the time that I will someday truly grasp all his meanings.

    • You are welcome! I hope this set you FREE in Christ! So many Christians receive baptism and the Holy Spirit, but then don’t read the Bible! By not reading it, they fail to receive all the beautiful promises of the Lord. I did this too for almost ten years of my salvation! The day I truly started reading this fascinating Book, my eyes flew open at the amazing promises and power that were allotted to me at the moment of my salvation! Wow! I thought. Why did I not know this earlier? How stupid am I that I wasted all those years stumbling in the dark when all this was given to me? It’s like having a powerful sword to defend myself against the enemy all this time and never knowing it- I’ve been using my hands alone, making it so much harder on myself! I want to introduce people to the promises in the Bible in the hopes that they will begin their own reading. I’m so glad you enjoyed this, Sheerinhamill1!

Please join the conversation! All comments are monitored, so if you have a private note you wish to leave, just say so. Also, all profane or unhelpful comments will be deleted. Thank you!

