Caleb’s Mother Lied And Really Needs to Apologize to Mrs. Lindsey

screen-shot-2016-11-21-at-7-40-50-am-copy
This is an example of an out of control mother who has ruined a teacher’s life because of her lies on social media.  She owes a deep apology to Mrs. Lindsey, to Nutter Fort Elementary School and to all the parents and students who attend there.

Ok, I need to take a stand on something important here. There is a teacher in Nutter Fort, West Virginia who supposedly ‘snatched’ a microphone from an autistic boy in a heartless and horrible manner just as he was about to say, ‘Gobble, Gobble’. The boy begins to shout, “Oh no! Oh no!” and his mother begins to bawl on camera. She puts this on social media and says, ” all he wanted to say was ‘gobble gobble!” and ignites a firestorm of anger, disgust, name calling, death threats, petitions to fire Ms. Lindsey, and wishes for every horrible kind of sexual assault on her person I have ever seen.  Unfortunately, Caleb’s mother lied (or, shall we say, she was extremely disingenuous?) and has now ruined the life of the poor teacher, Mrs. Lindsey.  And now, it’s time to reach out to that poor teacher and try to make it a little better for her.  Hopefully, most of you reading this will change your minds concerning Mrs. Lindsey and the end result will be understanding and a word of encouragement to her to help her overcome the mob assault on her, the school in which she works and her family.  I tell you now, the ‘punishment’ she is undergoing far exceeds any ‘crime’ she has committed.

The insane mob attack is a crime against humanity.  This article is not directed at Caleb’s mother or at her family, but it is to save Mrs. Lindsey.  Unfortunately, I must list Caleb’s mom’s actions in order to stop the Mob Attack.

I have seen my own readers posting this video, along with similar kinds of vehemence and vigilante style statements on them. That’s how it came to my attention.

Well. I decided to look into this by reading the full article, reading the comments (wow) and watching the video. Something just seemed… off. Such hatred with so little information! I guess I just wanted to know why Mrs. Lindsey pulled that mic. But no one else seemed similarly interested! Just the rush to judgement! And such judgement I had never seen before. I’ve not seen that kind of hatred since I wrote my Sandy Hook article. But then, it was being directed at me. So, I kinda know how this teacher is feeling right now. I just wanted to know if she deserved this incredible hatred. I somehow doubted anyone deserved it.

And, wha-lah (p.s.  to all the knuckleheads who are dying to have me change this to ‘voilà’, I just don’t take myself that seriously.  However, I do want to say this:  a) I would have written voilà if I meant voilà (and how silly would that have been?) and b) I didn’t see any of you bothering to do any research, let alone write any article, with or without errors, because most of you were too busy joining the MOB.  I leave it to spite you.  Ha!), the facts do come out. It appears that Caleb’s mother insisted that her son be put into the show on the very day of the show. She never filled out a permission slip and had never taken Caleb to a single practice. (To corroborate, other witnesses said that Caleb was not listed on the official school program that was handed out that day.)   Has this mother given the school grief over her  son before?  In any case, the teacher agreed to allow Caleb to participate so that he wouldn’t feel left out because she was nice, but apparently agreed on the understanding that Caleb would have no speaking lines.   Remember, this is because he was entered at the last minute and didn’t even know the play- not because he was autistic or because the teacher was mean.  It was a way to allow the child to participate without much disruption to the play.

That means that Caleb didn’t have a line that said, ‘Gobble, gobble!’ which means that mom must have made it up and told him he could say it.    Parents who have seen this play many times over the years (it’s a tradition, apparently) have said in various comments, that there has never been a turkey part in the play.   Many also say that Caleb was not, in fact, dressed as a turkey, but as an Indian but was only wearing the costume on his head.   If so, it would mean that mom had no respect for the play, the other kids , the teacher or the school, for that matter.  She just thought that it would be cute for her kid to say, ‘Gobble, gobble’ at the end of the play.  May I ask you, who does that?  Who just makes up a part for their kid in a school play and doesn’t bother telling the director of the play what their kid plans on doing??  Especially after they understood that their kid wouldn’t have official speaking parts?  Clearly, the mother never got any sort of agreement worked out with the director of the play concerning this line or none of this would have happened.

During the show, it became clear that mom did nothing to ensure that Caleb understood this. If you watch the full video of the show, you can see that Caleb actually broke this rule and spoke several times when he wasn’t supposed to. And he aimlessly walks around on the stage because he doesn’t know what to do- of course!  And I would say that it had nothing to do with having autism- it was due to never going to practice and having no clue what the play was even about.  Whose fault is that?   Mom’s.

At the times when Caleb makes these understandable mistakes, people in the audience and kids laugh at Caleb- some of it seems unkind. You can even hear Caleb’s mother bemoaning the laughter and some of Caleb’s actions. Well, the mother states that the teacher ‘snatched’ the microphone ‘before he could say ‘gobble, gobble’, but that is completely disingenuous, isn’t it? The teacher had no idea what he was doing or what he was going to say considering that he no speaking parts. She didn’t have a crystal ball to know that this was ‘all’ he wanted. Also, were other kids allowed to continue speaking into the mic after the play was over? Does autism mean that you can do whatever you like, no matter what? Does a teacher setting limits for an autistic child equal cruelty just because that child cries and the mother goes into hysterics? I don’t think so. The teacher could very well have been trying to prevent more laughter at Caleb’s expense.  In fact, I believe she was doing her best to end the play in the least embarrassing way for Caleb and everyone else as possible.  She’s also criticized for not helping Caleb when he cries after the microphone is taken before he can get to it.  But witnesses from the school testified that the other students had to be rushed back to their classrooms.  This teacher had many other students to attend to.  Parents also.  The video also doesn’t show exactly what happened immediately afterward, but I can’t help but think that Caleb’s parents were to the stage in a matter of moments.  Witness accounts go on to say that Caleb was happy just a few minutes after the incident.  To me, all of this has been blown completely out of proportion.

Since all of this has gone down, other parents and teachers from Nutter Fort have come forward with the truth of the situation. Almost none of it is getting through the noise of the mob, though. So I wanted to print it here, for the sake of this poor teacher, Mrs. Lindsey. The best source for this information has been another blog article, ‘Dear Mrs. Lindsey’, from the WordPress blog, Open Letters.  This blog has attracted the comments of parents and teachers who actually attended that play and who know the teacher, mother and Caleb.  According to people who know the situation, Caleb’s parents are now welcoming Christmas gifts for Caleb , have set up social media groups who seem bent on attacking Mrs. Lindsey, and have not once asked the public to calm down or stop its outrageous and over the top hatred toward Mrs. Lindsey or the school.  In fact, they seem to relish it.  Further, Caleb’s mother even allowed one reader to post Mrs. Lindsey’s home telephone number on her Facebook account.  This, of course, allows the worst social media sorts to harass her at home- and apparently they have.  Mrs. Lindsey has a young daughter who is probably terrified by all this.

According to one teacher who works at the school,  Mrs. Lindsey and Caleb have a very special relationship at school- she is one of Caleb’s favorite teachers!  She spends extra time with him compared to other teachers- he hugs her and runs to her.  She is a favorite for many parents and students.   Other parents have said that this mother has acted in this entitled, hysterical manner more than once.  The story always has two sides and the other side is all but drowned out by the mass hysteria of hatred.  All being fostered and, if not exactly encouraged, certainly not discouraged by Caleb’s parents.   All this is wrong and wrong headed and shows an entitlement mentality, a need for attention and a sort of cruelty that I don’t understand.

Once you know the facts, you will be more likely to stop this crazy judging and hate mongering. Please stop it on your facebook pages if you have posted this there. And please start posting the truth. This poor teacher is suffering. So is the school. They are on full lockdown right now due to the death threats this teacher is receiving.  Over a thousand children must play indoors due to the death threats from the unreasoned mob on social media.

Christians, of all people, shouldn’t be a part in this mob hatred. Help this teacher and hopefully, she can get her life back.  She is a real, living human being and no one deserves this insane treatment.   Here is a petition you can sign and leave her a cheerful, supportive comment.  You aren’t giving any money or asking for a single thing to be done on her behalf.  All you are doing is giving her emotional support.  Put yourself in her position for just one moment.  Ask yourself if you have ever spoken unkindly or with a lack of patience with your child before.  Just imagine a camera in your house!  And have that video of you go viral around the world and everyone calling you fat, ugly and wishing for your death, wishing you to be beat up, raped, have your job to be taken from you and thinking you are the most evil person on earth!  And worse, they failed to take into consideration the fact that you were protecting your child from something bad!  And you had no venue in which to defend yourself.  Think of that and please, sign this petition and say something kind to this poor woman.  We can’t stop others from ranting but we can do our part by telling Mrs. Lindsey that the entire world has not lost its mind.  There are kind people in the world that want to reach out to her.  We care enough to send comfort to a stranger.  This is what Jesus would want of us.  Of that, I am quite sure.

 

****FINAL COMMENT BY AUTHOR:

Ok, I’m closing comments now- only apologies are going through as promised.  For those who want to say more negative and critical things about Mrs. Lindsey and what she did, all I can say is that it won’t be original or new.  Someone has already said it.  In fact, many people have already said it.  So.. it doesn’t need to be said again.  She has been punished- much more than she or anyone needs to be punished for such a minor ‘crime’.  For those who continue to wish Ms. Lindsey good things, thank you.  I am just too tired to go through the hundreds of messages that are still left.  I stayed up until 5 am this morning going through over 900 comments for Mrs. Lindsey’s benefit.  I wanted her to wake up this morning to cheerful and comforting comments from rational, sane and loving people.  There were far more apologies and beautiful messages than ugly ones and for this, I thank God.

Mrs. Lindsey, if you are reading this, this is my Thanksgiving and Christmas gift to you.  I want you to know that I respect and love teachers who work hard to teach my children.  You are human beings deserving of love and kindness- just plain politeness at the very minimum.  I also want you to know that I could never have done this without the help of God, whom I serve.  I did not know it would go viral as it has.  Only He could have made that happen.  I didn’t know that so many people would respond so kindly.  Only He could have done that.  I also couldn’t have thought to write it without His loving inspiration.  So, I can’t say that it is truly my gift when really, it is His gift.  Ms. Lindsey, I’ve never met you.  The reason I did this was because I saw the ugliest thing- a mob coming after a lone woman.  The punishment was so overwhelming for the ‘crime’.  I think I am a natural defender of the defenseless.  No one can defend themselves against a social media mob.  So, I tried- and thank God, literally, people responded.

Here’s what I am praying for:  that you forgive this mother and father.  That you continue to do your work at the school.  That you continue loving this darling boy.  That you heal fully in your heart.  That you know people understand what has happened now and regret, with all their hearts, that you were so victimized.  This is why I stayed up all night, until 5am to get as many positive comments through so that you could wake up to them this Thanksgiving morning.  All so that you could heal and therefore, forgive.  Forgiveness is the only way to true healing.  Only in this way can things go well for everyone.  As to the ones who continue posting or continue sending messages, believe me, the word will eventually go out.  And it will stop.  The Mob will find someone else tomorrow and you will be completely forgotten.  Some people are just fixing on you to blame.  They are actually frustrated with ‘the system’ and are using you as their punching bag for all the things that have hurt them in the past.  Forgive them too.  Just turn off social media for a couple weeks and you will feel so much better.  If you can discipline yourself and do that, I truly think you will be ok.  Believe me, I’ve been exactly where you are right now and understand the psychological trauma of what you are going through.  That’s why I know, deep down, that what you really need is this positive affirmation by complete strangers that you are a good person and they see it.  We don’t live to please others but once the Mob attacks us so vilely, we need public support to balance it out.

God bless and keep you, Mrs. Lindsey.  May he make his face to shine upon you.  Turn to Jesus in your time of need, because surely, I tell you, this is proof that he has not forgotten you!  He has been there in your time of need, sweet Lady!

Sincerely,  Susan Shannon
aka  Short Little Rebel
(because loving Jesus out loud and in public is the most rebellious thing you can do today!)

(*Update: I have finished going through all that were pending since I closed comments.  All that were kind were passed.  Some were kind for Mrs. Lindsey but not so kind for Caleb’s mother – or, they advocated unpleasant things.  These were deleted.  I didn’t want the result of this page to be a hate mongering or even criticism on the mother.  I just wanted good things for Ms. Lindsey.  I wish I could have just posted the positive part, but without your permission, I couldn’t.  The negative ones about either woman didn’t pass and were deleted. The negative ones about me were deleted.

A special note to Caleb’s mother:  should you read this, I want to tell you that I did my very best to keep my crowd in control.  I hope you can see by their words that I did not allow them to injure you or harm you in any way.  I don’t know if you realize this but the moderator of a page has tremendous influence of their commenters.  It is a fallacy to say, “well, I can’t control what my readers say.”  Because you can.  I ensured that no comments that were critical of you were posted.  It’s that simple.  People saw the kinds of comments that were being passed and understood- automatically- that this is not a site for cursing and saying ugly things about people.  I controlled the mood of the almost 3 million people who visited my site and read this article by not saying horribly inflammatory things about you in the first place and by making sure to say fair and even things about you in my comment section.  I guided my readers and comments in their wishes for revenge against you by posting one such suggestion for revenge and counseling against it.  Instead, I told that person that this post is not about exacting punishment or revenge against you, but getting positive attention for Ms. Lindsey.  I also continually reminded them that you are not responsible for the mob attack.  You couldn’t know that it would happen.  In this way, I taught others how to behave.  And it works.  The authors of the articles written about you and your situation not only inspired but were irresponsible for allowing the commenters to run amok on their social media pages.   I just want you to know that although I disagree with what you did, I understand that it was not the crime of the century either.  That’s why I did my best to protect you from a mob just as much as I did Mrs. Lindsey.  I don’t dislike you or hate you in any way.  I know you love your son.  I love my children too.  I can only hope that you and Ms. Lindsey can now come together in mutual love and forgiveness.  I think whatever damage was done to her by the mob that ensued from your original post has been emotionally healed.  She now knows that people understand the full situation and that she is not a horrible monster.  I’m sure that you didn’t want them to think that in the first place.  There is no shame in reconciliation.  I pray that this comes for all of you.  I hope you can forgive me for sharing this information with the public.  For that, I am sorry.  I can tell you, with all my heart and sincerity, it was not to harm you.  I simply had to share it to protect a woman who was being brutalized by a mob that was not your fault.  No one else was going to do it- including the school.  Was I irritated with you when I wrote this?  yes, I guess I was.  But I’m not now.  I truly, truly, wish you all the best.  I don’t even know your name.  But I send you my prayers and my friendship if you will have it.  Susan

love-your-neighbor

Enter a caption

The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’g There is no commandment greater than these.”- Jesus, recorded in Mark 12

1,660 comments

  1. This is beautiful, and well-said. To be honest, I haven’t seen the video or heard of the incident. However, being a teacher myself, I can TOTALLY see something like this happening. There’s ALWAYS multiple sides to every story. As teachers, we often get the short end of the stick, unable to defend ourselves for fear of making things worse. THANK YOU for posting your kind words; I wish there were more people like you in the world.

      • Susan Shannon
        aka Short Little Rebel,
        Somehow you made this article more about yourself than the actual people in the event you’re covering. You might consider using “I” less and using “we” or “them” more. The story has nothing to do with you, yet you’re acting like you’re a saint for covering it and for going through the comments so thoroughly. The way you wrote this article makes you seem conceited. I don’t know if you actually are self-centered, but that’s how you come off.

      • Dear Abby, I can see what you mean- perhaps I did get a little ahead of myself on my final opinion- but not during the article. If I did wax poetic in the end, it was because I saw an opportunity to make a difference. If my article managed to garner that much support for Mrs. Lindsey, I thought, then perhaps she would be grateful enough to listen to my counsel to forgive Caleb’s mother. And if my influence over my readers and their comments (ie, keeping them kind and non-aggressive) toward Caleb’s mother could placate her, then perhaps she, too, would listen to my counsel and forgive Mrs. Lindsey. So, yes, I did outline the efforts I made on their behalfs- but not for the reasons you believe. It wasn’t to puff myself up in pride or to be conceited. It was to show them how much I cared- especially since I was a perfect stranger to them. I wanted them to know that I did it, not for myself, but for the sake of my Christian beliefs. In other words, I feel that God gave me the opportunity to use my page and this opportunity to bring peace to a very harmful and potentially even more harmful situation. So, I used the situation to the best advantage. While I put myself in the position of being called ‘conceited’ by some, I don’t think you can say I did it for myself. I don’t earn a penny for what I do. All my writing is done without pay. I refuse to monetize my site even though I gather that it might earn a bit on advertising at this point. That is a promise I made to my readers at the very beginning of this journey. It was to gain their confidence that my opinions are my own and that I stay a genuine person. My fear was that the parties involved might be considering defamation lawsuits. Since I happen to be involved in one myself, I know the great pain and needless suffering of being in one. I also don’t think anyone will win their suit. I think the only winners will be the lawyers they hire- I think the pain will just grow and the ‘bitter root’ with it. So, if I can use any influence I have to make pain end where it is, I used it. That is my excuse for ‘being conceited’. I hope it wins your approval.

    • Thank you so much for shedding light on this WHOLE story. I must admit as I watched the video the first time I watched as a mother and was a bit upset then I watched it a second time as a former educator that worked with some special needs children and I saw no malice in Mrs. Lindsey’s actions. I told myself there is always more to the story and was ashamed by sooo many horrible comments towards her. I am sharing your site on my Facebook page in hopes to open more hearts and minds to the truth of this situation and how easily things can be misconstrued. Thanks again and God Bless!

  2. With everything our world is going through right now, the very first thing we should be simply grateful for is the freedom to have these precious plays performed by our children. Children being the key word there. These are fleeting moments and a lot more than most realize and others take for granted. I was never given the chance with my nephew to see a school play. In the summer of 2009, just 6 days after his 5th birthday, he was with his mother,brother, and several cousins at a lake in North Georgia and he drown. I would give anything if our biggest complaint was that he didn’t get to speak into a microphone, gobble gobble. I urge Caleb’s mom to hold him tight and thank God for her precious gift. Also, to give Mrs . Lindsay the same, beautiful, peaceful, chance with her precious daughter. That baby girl no how, no way deserves to live in any type of fear, but from people who are trying to take one situation and cram it into a glass house from another. I urge those folks, please go home, be with your family and friends. If not this time of year, if not after all the tragedy and outrage from all around the world then when. I believe each party (though truly none of my business) if they could go back again, would change some things with this new vantage point. We don’t get to do it that way though. For thanks be to God and our Savior Jesus Christ, we have something so miraculous and so much better. It is called Grace!! Each day that we open our eyes we have a fresh start. The only thing left to decide is how we execute that miraculous gift. See ladies,if you have talked this over with God and feel that you made everything right, he has already forgotten about the situation, and He tells us he throws it as far as the East is from the West. Look on a globe, or Google the East and the West never touch. That means as far as God is concerned it’s gone. The hard part is forgiving or getting past this ordeal yourself. With Him,time, family, and friends it will happen. You all are in my Prayers and thoughts. Mrs. Lindsay (sorry if I’m m.s. your name) I know what it’s like due to my line of work to have threats made against your child. I too, have a daughter who the first time it happened wasn’t even 12 months old, there have been many more since then. That feeling is like no other. So my Prayer is that she is wrapped in those all knowing and all protecting arms, for He tells us so in the Bible. Also, if you ever need to Pray or talk I am a Chaplain and you may e-mail me at any time. The same goes for very kind and brave soul who wrote this article, and Caleb’s mom. God Bless you all.

  3. I am so sorry this is happening to you people always take things and twist and bend it to the max I hope and pray you get peacefulness back in your life if a persons intentions arent bad they don’t deserve something like this it should’ve never have gotten this blown out of proportion what happened to the adults and role-models of our world it’s sad and I’m 22 it’s scary how hateful society has become and sad to say it’s only going to get worse 😞 your a STRONG WOMAN I couldn’t even begin to imagine what your going through but your still going and that says a lot! Love, Sarah Christie….El Dorado,AR ❤❤❤❤

    • Wow! I had no idea how big this thing has been blowing. I am a college student who is currently writing about social media. A few weeks ago when this story first appeared on my feed, I won’t lie, I was shocked. I saw the 30 second clip and I was wondering why the teacher would do that? I am glad I looked more into it and not only because it will give a great point in my essay. It’s been really hard finding anything credible about this story. But so far my opinion on it… Honestly if all these rude people care so much about teachers and education don’t you think they would use this as a chance to teach forgiveness? If they truly had such kind hearts why aren’t they looking for a solution? The only solution is see is a bunch of frustrated ignorant people who have no where else to express their anger. I see YouTube comments floating around that contain phone numbers and emails. And what is worse is the parents of Caleb love the attention. I do not want to live in a world where children grow up to think it is okay to bully someone to this extent because a teacher was doing her job! She was at her job and who hasn’t had a bad day or been rude at a job before? I have. I don’t care if Mrs. Lindsey seemed rude and careless of Caleb’s feelings, I refuse to judge and contribute to destroying someone without even knowing them and the real story. And also what is done is done. If she had bad intention pulling that mic away it’s over and she has gotten the punishment. I have one thing to say to those who say things like “I don’t care why the teacher did it it’s rude it’s wrong, burn her”…. It seems to me you’re saying it is okay to just let kids interrupt and not follow the rules because they can. Oh and my dear heart, he was autistic so of course he can right? What if the kid was known for misbehaving or having foul language? What is sad is I found this story through my own colleagues sharing and hating on Mrs. Lindsey. Some of them are involved in many things in school and are supposedly working on a school for autistic kids. Really ignorant I’d say! I hope when they do become teachers they will have learn to believe credible things on the internet. The problem I’m getting out of this is that we need to better educate ourselves, kids and others to analyze and research the things we come across! This will be fun to write about! Much love and happy holidays to you! thanks for sharing your thoughts.

      • Hi Vicky, some great thoughts- very mature for a college student. Far more intelligent and well thought out than many of the ‘mothers’ whose mouth needed a good dose of Listerine after commenting on my page! Before you write about social media, make sure you check out my more recent article about social media mobs. I have studied them for years now, especially being a conservative blogger. I can say this with confidence: liberal mobs are, hands down, the meanest and ugliest on social media. They are also the most coordinated. When these guys decide to strike their victim, their goal is nothing short of bloody death by a million nicks. They study one-liners and know just what to say- there exists a mob language that only they know. They even sneer meaner than the next guy. I have been on the receiving end of these mobs due to the fact that I love Jesus and dare to say it out loud and in public. And I don’t apologize for it in any sort of way. This will always draw the knives and the steely eyes of hate. But not all mobs are liberal- the one that attacked Mrs. Lindsey wasn’t. It was just a normal one, full of normal people. The article I wrote focused on the common elements I’ve observed in any kind of mob. I am considering an article specifically on liberal social media mobs because they have their own special traits. In any case, it is a fascinating topic. Good luck with your paper! Hope you get a great grade on it. SLR

Please join the conversation! All comments are monitored, so if you have a private note you wish to leave, just say so. Also, all profane or unhelpful comments will be deleted. Thank you!

